Star Lounger
    Thanks

Failed SP1 & Explorer 9 Updates

I've been wrestling with both of these updates for a couple months. I have the 64 bit version of WIN 7 Home Premium, an MSI 785GM-E65 board, an AMD X4 945 Phenom II processor, and 4 gig of Kingston DDR3 memory. I have Norton 360 for system protection, but both the firewall and antivirus products were disabled while attempting to upgrade. The upgrade readiness tool has been installed. I have attempted to upgrade through the upgrade adviser, and I have attempted the upgrade after downloading the file to the administrator's desktop. I have tried it with the startup items disabled in msconfig, and I have tried it in safe mode. I have also been on line; apparently others have experienced the same situation. For the SP1 update I make it through about a half hour then get a failure message, the detail being:

ERROR: E_FAIL(0x80004005)

I have followed the advice on Microsoft's website that included deleting update history and some other associated items. I also deleted a registry entry that had something to do with USB drivers being limited to 8.

The explorer 9 update seems to install successfully, but then following the reboot I get a failure configuring message at about 97% and then a further message that says reverting changes. The system then reboots normally. If I look at the update history, it says that explorer 9 was a successful update, but it's version 8 that loads.

Any help would really be appreciated. Thanks.

Casey

Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    A seach, windows 7 sp1 install error 0x80004005, produces many threads all of which indicate that this error is tricky to resolve. Have you looked at the CBS.log file? Have you seen Service Pack 1 install fails?

Joe

Star Lounger
    Thanks