Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger Not Brightest Bulb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central IL
    Posts
    376
    Thanks
    69
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    What is this new 'Auto Saved' feature?

    New question as I'm writing this every about once a minute a small window opens up that says "Auto Saved" and shuts immediately, what is that all about. It's a brand new phenomenon it's just the size of the message on lower right corner. Where is this auto saved stuff being saved at and why.
    Last edited by Deadeye81; 2011-07-04 at 07:24. Reason: Started new thread

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Not Brightest Bulb View Post
    New question as I'm writing this every about once a minute a small window opens up that says "Auto Saved" and shuts immediately, what is that all about. It's a brand new phenomenon it's just the size of the message on lower right corner. Where is this auto saved stuff being saved at and why.
    That seems to be a new Lounge feature and no info was provided about it (or I missed it).
    Last edited by Deadeye81; 2011-07-04 at 07:36. Reason: Removed non-essential content after starting new thead

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to ruirib For This Useful Post:

    Not Brightest Bulb (2011-07-04)

  4. #3
    3 Star Lounger Not Brightest Bulb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central IL
    Posts
    376
    Thanks
    69
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    1st I unchecked a bunch of auto save features in RoboForm and then jumped back on here still got message. Then I jumped back on here read your reply and tried a different forum and you are right, it only comes on here. I thought it was caused by my new keyboard hookup, I'm like Chicken Little anything different occurs and I run around like idiot with problems that are not problems.

  5. #4
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,414
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    Hmmm. Thinks... What might an AutoSave feature do? (I reckon the clue is in the two halves of this compound word...)
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  6. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BATcher View Post
    Hmmm. Thinks... What might an AutoSave feature do? (I reckon the clue is in the two halves of this compound word...)
    That's just a tiny part and probably the least important one. At least if you don't know how to retrieve the saved draft, it really isn't much use, no matter the clarity of the chosen name.

  7. #6
    3 Star Lounger Not Brightest Bulb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central IL
    Posts
    376
    Thanks
    69
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BATcher View Post
    Hmmm. Thinks... What might an AutoSave feature do? (I reckon the clue is in the two halves of this compound word...)
    Even as dumb as I am I managed to figure that part out all by myself but was curious as to what/where and how to use it if needed. I'm always a little set back when something pops up on my screen that I have not asked for.

  8. #7
    Super Moderator Deadeye81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    2,654
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 113 Times in 97 Posts
    We are in the process of finding out how we can utilize the Auto-save feature, but at this point we have no explanation. I.M.O.G will be back soon and hopefully we will soon be able to chalk this issue up as 'mystery solved'.

  9. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    A new button has shown "its face" at the bottom right of the quick reply window: Restore Autosaved Content, or something similar. I guess the name identifies its purpose too. It doesn't seem to be behave in a predictable manner, though, as in this very post I had two autosave notice appearances and non of the restore auto saved contents button.

  10. #9
    Super Moderator Deadeye81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    2,654
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 113 Times in 97 Posts
    Interesting.....evidently a work in progress. The Auto-save notification popped up while typing this reply. I erased the reply, and clicked the 'Restore Autosaved Conten' or however it was labeled, and it restored part of the last message I typed prior to this post. Maybe if I abandoned this Quick Reply and opened another, it would restore the auto-save just typed.

  11. #10
    Super Moderator Deadeye81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    2,654
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 113 Times in 97 Posts
    I tried another reply, typed until it auto-saved, cancelled the reply, clicked 'Reply to Thread', clicked 'Restore Auto-Saved Content', and it worked.

  12. #11
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Right now the restore button is not showing up either in IE 9 or Chrome.

  13. #12
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I do not see the Restore Auto Saved Content button.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  14. #13
    WS Lounge VIP Browni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochdale, UK
    Posts
    1,651
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 161 Times in 139 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ted Myers View Post
    I do not see the Restore Auto Saved Content button.
    Perhaps you had nothing auto-saved. Presumably after a successful post the auto-save content is cleared and therefore will not show for future replies.

    I tried similar to Deadeye81 in that I started composing a quick reply to this thread and waited for the Auto-Saved message to appear. I then closed the tab, opened a new tab and came back to this thread and the Restore Auto-Saved button appeared.

    BTW, this is not unique to this forum, I have seen it on another vBulletin based site.

  15. #14
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I will try it again. Yep worked just as Gerald said. This could be a very handy feature!
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  16. #15
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    The mistery is solved . Quite an interesting option.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •