Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Locust Grove, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    105
    Thanks
    52
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Win7 Start-up problem

    Hi to all,

    Due to my lack of computer expertise I had problems
    installing Windows 7 updates on my Dell Inspiron 530
    64 Bit computer and ended up starting and stopping the
    installation, so now I have some minor inconveniences
    when I start up my computer.

    When I turn the computer on I get a black screen with
    “diskette Drive 0 seek failure” “Press F1 to continue,
    F2 to enter Set up”. When I press F1 I get a black
    screen with 3 Windows 7 Home Premium options with
    the top one highlighted and after either hitting enter or
    waiting for a 30 second countdown, Windows 7 starts
    and everything is OK from that point on.

    Someone in one of the groups suggested that the
    problem could by solved by downloading Easy BCD
    but I am not sure what I should change or remove.
    This is what I find:
    ************************************************** ***********
    Default: Not set
    Timeout: Skipped
    EasyBCD Boot Device: C:\

    Entry #1
    Name: Windows 7 Home Premium (recovered)
    BCD ID: {current}
    Drive: C:\
    Bootloader Path: \Windows\system32\winload.exe

    Entry #2
    Name: Windows 7 Home Premium (recovered)
    BCD ID: {f9f45a3b-7f56-11e0-ba87-83c344f1a557}
    Drive: D:\
    Bootloader Path: \Windows\system32\winload.exe

    Entry #3
    Name: Windows 7 Home Premium (recovered)
    BCD ID: {f9f45a3c-7f56-11e0-ba87-83c344f1a557}
    Drive: E:\
    Bootloader Path: \Windows\system32\winload.exe
    ************************************************** *************
    Can anyone give me some suggestions on how I should
    proceed and what I should change or delete?

    Thank you.
    Respectfully, Graphics Guy

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    GG,

    Does your Dell Inspiron 530 have a diskette drive? Mine doesn't. If yours doesn't press F2 next time it asks and disable the diskette drive in the BIOS also while in there make sure the Hard Drive is 1st in the Boot Order.

    As for the Boot Menu it appears that there is not a Default set to boot. I'm not familiar with BCDEdit but run the program and look for an option to make one {the one you select from the menu} the default, that should cause it to boot through.


    If this doesn't work you may want to try a Repair Install using your Windows 7 disk.
    Last edited by RetiredGeek; 2011-07-08 at 06:00. Reason: Delete a comment caused by being hasty!
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  3. #3
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,492
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked 577 Times in 480 Posts
    The "“diskette Drive 0 seek failure” “Press F1 to continue, F2 to enter Set up”." is purely BIOS and I guess you have a USB keyboard so F1 is ignored. Can you fit a PS2 keyboard to correct the floppy drive error and enable USB legacy devices (IE the USB keyboard)?

    The 3 BCD entries each point to different partitions, it looks like #1 (Current) is the correct one. Again, the wait time is probably because of the USB keyboard not being activated at boot.

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to satrow For This Useful Post:

    Graphics Guy (2011-07-13)

  5. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Locust Grove, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    105
    Thanks
    52
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Hi Guys,

    Thank you for responding so quickly, sorry it has taken me so long to get back to you.

    "Does your Dell Inspiron 530 have a diskette drive?"
    I have a diskette drive but it is not internal, but connected through a USB port.
    It does not register as "A Drive" but as "B Drive" but works great so I never delved into the reason why.
    Could this be part of my problem?

    "....make sure the Hard Drive is 1st in the Boot Order."
    I have my Hard Drive as 1st and CD Drive as 2nd.

    "...I guess you have a USB keyboard "
    Yes, my keyboard is connected through a USB port on the back ofmy computer.

    "The 3 BCD entries each point to different partitions, it looks like #1 (Current) is the correct one"
    I went into BCD and saved the entry that pointed toward the "C Drive" and deleted the other two and now although I still get the error notice "“diskette Drive 0 seek failure” “Press F1 to continue, F2 to enter Set up”, when I press F! it automatically starts up Windows with no delay time.

    Thanks for all your help. Respectfully, Graphics Guy

  6. #5
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    GG,

    Ok here's the procedure to fix the Diskette problem.
    1. On the Initial Inspiron boot screen w/the big Dell in a circle press F2 until the F2 - Setup at bottom right lights up.
    2. Use the Down Arrow to select "Standard CMOS Features" then press Enter
    3. Use the Down Arrow to select "Drive A" then press Enter.
    4. Use the Up/Down Arrow to select "None" then press Enter.
    5. Press F10
    6. Press Y
    7. Press Enter


    Note: This Dell model does not have PS2 ports and is deisgned to work with USB KB/Mouse from the first boot message. Also if you get to item 3 and Drive A already says "None" just press ESC until the machine reboots.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to RetiredGeek For This Useful Post:

    Graphics Guy (2011-07-13)

  8. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Locust Grove, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    105
    Thanks
    52
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thank you RG,
    Your easy to follow instructions worked like a champ. With Satrow and your help my computer now starts up normally and works great!

    I have one more question: I try to thank everyone that helps me with a thank you in a message but how do I create a "Thanks" entry?

    Respectfully, Graphics Guy

  9. #7
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Graphics Guy View Post
    I have one more question: I try to thank everyone that helps me with a thank you in a message but how do I create a "Thanks" entry?
    GG,

    Just find the post you want to thank the poster for and click the "Thanks" button in the lower left of the post area.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by RetiredGeek; 2011-07-13 at 15:28.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  10. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Locust Grove, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    105
    Thanks
    52
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Hi Retired Geek,

    Thanks again for the valuable information.

    Respectfully, Graphics Guy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •