Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Unhappy Win 7 64 bit not recognising TomTom

    I am running WIN7 64 bit and it has stopped recognising my TomTom when I try to update it.
    I have updated it previously. Have completely reinstalled WIN7 but have not solved the problem. It does not recognise that the device is plugged in using USB.
    Have been in touch with TomTom for more than 6 weeks and they have not been able to come up with anything helpful.
    Can anyone here help me please?

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,593
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    If you are plugging into a desktop and not a laptop try using a USB port in the back of the PC.

    Have you tried a different USB port?

    Can you try it on another PC to verify that the device works?

    Joe

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I'm wondering if unplugging all USB devices, then deleteing all USB controllers in Device Manager would help. As you plug devices in Windows should reinstall these controllers. Perhaps one of these controllers is the culprit, esp. if you always use the same USB port (as Joe has mentioned).
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi Joe - Yes have tried using a port on the back of computer as well as the front, but it made no difference. Unfortunately do not have access to another computer. TomTom have today said the item needs to be returned for repair - as it is just out of warranty will need to see what they are going to charge for this.

    Ted - that is a very good point - I will try deleting all USB controllers and reattaching devices to see if that will work. Thanks
    Shirley

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    HI Ted - have tried your suggestion but to no avail. Aren't computers and devices marvellous when they work!!

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    And a pain in the you know where when they don't. Did any software come with the Tom Tom? If so you might have to reinstall that software. Just a shot in the dark, sorry I don't have any other ideas at this time.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    fayetteville, nc
    Posts
    57
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Have you tried any other USB devices?

  8. #8
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Squibbs,

    Have you tried another USB cable? Any USB cable with the same connectors will work. I often use the one for my Blackberry to update my Garmin GPS.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Have not tried another cable - use same cable to charge TomTom so it is working. Also it has a specialised fitting for the device end of the cable. However Windows downloaded some new drivers and the device now says "TomTom RDS-TMC receiver connected". Going into Computer however does not show the device. Still cannot update it however as the TomTom2 program still says the device is not connected.

  10. #10
    Super Moderator Deadeye81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    2,654
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 113 Times in 97 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Squibbs View Post
    Have not tried another cable - use same cable to charge TomTom so it is working. Also it has a specialised fitting for the device end of the cable. However Windows downloaded some new drivers and the device now says "TomTom RDS-TMC receiver connected". Going into Computer however does not show the device. Still cannot update it however as the TomTom2 program still says the device is not connected.
    The cable may be working to recharge, but still may not be able to able to handle a data stream. Trying another cable would not hurt.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •