Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,426
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 212 Times in 180 Posts

    Firefox 6 beta released

    If interested click here.
    George's PC Specs. / Laptop. Desktop.

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,203
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 212 Times in 199 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roderunner View Post
    If interested click here.
    RR,
    Hello.... I can't seem to get version "5" to work properly ... Once in a while it would load up a blank page and say that it was "Done" seems that there have been a lot of FireFox version releases lately, I've reverted back to 4.0.1 Regards Fred
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  4. #3
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,426
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 212 Times in 180 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Just Plain Fred View Post
    RR,
    Hello.... I can't seem to get version "5" to work properly ... Once in a while it would load up a blank page and say that it was "Done" seems that there have been a lot of FireFox version releases lately, I've reverted back to 4.0.1 Regards Fred
    Hi Fred, if you've been following my FF troubles, homepage size, intermittent scroll bar and the inability of the Lounge board to display data when the page is zoomed to enable us youthfull elder members to read it. Just for the record, what is the board's default font type & size.
    Back to my topic, FF Beta 6 has one fault already, it's stuck the 'Unsorted Bookmarks' at the foot of the main menu, on my pc its empty but can't shift it. Apart from that it is ok. Touch wood.
    George's PC Specs. / Laptop. Desktop.

  5. #4
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,058
    Thanks
    196
    Thanked 764 Times in 698 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roderunner View Post
    Hi Fred, if you've been following my FF troubles, homepage size, intermittent scroll bar and the inability of the Lounge board to display data when the page is zoomed to enable us youthfull elder members to read it. Just for the record, what is the board's default font type & size.
    RR,

    For once I don't have ANY of these problems w/FF 5.
    Since I restored an Image to fix the CNet Video problem things have been just peachy.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  6. #5
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,426
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 212 Times in 180 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek View Post
    RR,

    For once I don't have ANY of these problems w/FF 5.
    Since I restored an Image to fix the CNet Video problem things have been just peachy.
    Hi RG,
    I have been experimenting with other browsers, they have limited good points but lack the features of FF. Just for the record, does your FF run ok when on WSL site without 'Noscript' being installed ??? mine won't.
    George's PC Specs. / Laptop. Desktop.

  7. #6
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,058
    Thanks
    196
    Thanked 764 Times in 698 Posts
    RR,

    Can't say as I have always had NoScript running I also have FlashBlock & TACO! It's a little anal but I like to be safe as possible.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  8. #7
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,058
    Thanks
    196
    Thanked 764 Times in 698 Posts
    RR,

    Can't say as I have always had NoScript running I also have FlashBlock & TACO! It's a little anal but I like to be safe as possible.


    Update: I just disabled NoScript restarted FF and all still seems to be running properly.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  9. #8
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,426
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 212 Times in 180 Posts
    Hi RG,
    This is my No Script settings, if I untick the top box, I can't use WSL advanced posting options for adding images etc.

    Attachment 28505
    George's PC Specs. / Laptop. Desktop.

  10. #9
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,058
    Thanks
    196
    Thanked 764 Times in 698 Posts
    RR,

    My machine does NOT have that option checked and works fine. See attached.

    Also when I tried to expand your graphic clip I received something I never saw before, also see attached.

    Update: I just clicked on the images I posted and got the same thing...what's up all the sudden?

    Update2: I navigated away from this thread to one I replied to in Excel and it worked fine. Came back here and this one works fine. Go Figure!
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by RetiredGeek; 2011-07-09 at 15:56.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  11. #10
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,426
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 212 Times in 180 Posts
    Hi RG,
    viewing your images was OK. Maybe the Lounge needs extra staff i.e. Dental Surgeons.

    Attachment 28508
    George's PC Specs. / Laptop. Desktop.

  12. #11
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Just Plain Fred View Post
    I've reverted back to 4.0.1
    Unfortunately, 4.0.1 is not secure. The only way to get the security update is Firefox 5. It's a bit of a mess...

  13. #12
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles, California, USA
    Posts
    95
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Roderunner, it's pretty awkward to call this thread "Firefox Beta 6 released"
    better to change it to read "Firefox 6.0 Beta 1 Released" instead for better clarity and less confusion.
    beta 6 may stand for another version of Firefox being in the sixth beta
    plus Mozilla may release a 2nd beta (aka beta 2) of Firefox 6.0 before releasing a final version of FF 6.0 in mid-August.
    Last edited by np-7930; 2011-07-11 at 18:55.

  14. #13
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles, California, USA
    Posts
    95
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by np-7930 View Post
    plus Mozilla may release a 2nd beta (aka beta 2) of Firefox 6.0 before releasing a final version of FF 6.0 in mid-August.
    I was right about this. Mozilla has recently released Firefox 6.0 Beta 2 on their Firefox web site.
    another good reason why calling this thread "Firefox Beta 6 released" is a very bad and lame idea, Roderunner.
    and Mozilla may release some more FF6 betas before finalizing it.

  15. #14
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    To avoid confusion and further sniping by np-7930, I renamed this thread. Do we really need criticism that the name of a thread is "very bad" and "lame" in bold letters? You can always start your own thread with a title you like.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •