Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  • Thread Tools
  1. Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 208 Times in 176 Posts

    Question Info on updating Firefox

    Hi Loungers,
    I was using FF 5.0. I clicked Help > About Firefox. It showed I was using the latest version. I then attempted to send feedback, but was told I could only do so if using the latest version with a link to download it. I am now on FF version 5.0.1. Is'nt life strange.
    George's PC Specs Laptop. Desktop.

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to Roderunner For This Useful Post:

    RetiredGeek (2011-07-12)

  3. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  4. Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    5,533
    Thanks
    176
    Thanked 663 Times in 604 Posts
    RR,

    Thanks for the tip. Worked like a charm although It made me upgrade my Flash Player.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  5. Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 208 Times in 176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek View Post
    RR,

    Thanks for the tip. Worked like a charm although It made me upgrade my Flash Player.
    Hi RG,
    Did you manually check for updates to your addons ?
    p.s. what's the TACO addon you use.

    Attachment 28527
    George's PC Specs Laptop. Desktop.

  6. Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    5,533
    Thanks
    176
    Thanked 663 Times in 604 Posts
    RR,

    No FF told me I need to update flash, or maybe it was Flash that told me but it was right there on the main screen when I fired up FF 5.1.

    How did you know I was using TACO? It is another privacy app see the link for info.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  7. Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 208 Times in 176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek View Post
    RR,

    How did you know I was using TACO ?
    You did RG, I thought maybe it was an addon for FF.
    George's PC Specs Laptop. Desktop.

  8. Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    5,533
    Thanks
    176
    Thanked 663 Times in 604 Posts
    RR,

    TACO is a FF addon, but I still can't see where I told you I was using it, at least in this thread?
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  9. Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 208 Times in 176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek View Post
    RR,

    TACO is a FF addon, but I still can't see where I told you I was using it, at least in this thread?
    Found it here.
    Last edited by Roderunner; 2011-07-12 at 13:04.
    George's PC Specs Laptop. Desktop.

  10. New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roderunner View Post
    Hi Loungers,
    I was using FF 5.0. I clicked Help > About Firefox. It showed I was using the latest version. I then attempted to send feedback, but was told I could only do so if using the latest version with a link to download it. I am now on FF version 5.0.1. Is'nt life strange.
    There was a special update for the MAC OS only. If you are running OSX, then you got the update but Windows users and others did not.

  11. New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Had me fooled as well. My wireless mouse quit working after upgrading from FF4. When I complained I was given a link and told to download FF5 again. Checking for updates told me then (and now) that I was up to date. I then downloaded from the supplied link and the mouse works but, still shows I have v5.0.

  12. New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jackaycee View Post
    Had me fooled as well. My wireless mouse quit working after upgrading from FF4. When I complained I was given a link and told to download FF5 again. Checking for updates told me then (and now) that I was up to date. I then downloaded from the supplied link and the mouse works but, still shows I have v5.0.
    5.0 is the latest version for systems running Windows.

  13. Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 208 Times in 176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by rcdailey View Post
    There was a special update for the MAC OS only. If you are running OSX, then you got the update but Windows users and others did not.
    I am from Scotland but mine is'nt a MAC.
    George's PC Specs Laptop. Desktop.

  14. Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 208 Times in 176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by rcdailey View Post
    5.0 is the latest version for systems running Windows.
    5.0.1 is the latest for Windows.

    Attachment 28564
    George's PC Specs Laptop. Desktop.

  15. New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roderunner View Post
    5.0.1 is the latest for Windows.

    Attachment 28564
    Hmm, I'll have to check that. If you are running 5.0.1 in Windows and it is not a beta, I stand corrected. I don't get any update available when I check my 5.0 in Windows. I think I will wait until it is offered by auto-updates in Firefox. All I had read about was the emergency update for OSX Lion.

    I did find this: http://www.v3.co.uk/v3-uk/download-r...x-portable-501
    Last edited by rcdailey; 2011-07-14 at 11:36.

  16. New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I tried the same steps you did and it says mine is up to date. Running Windows and it is Ver. 5.0.

  17. Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 208 Times in 176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pwesr View Post
    I tried the same steps you did and it says mine is up to date. Running Windows and it is Ver. 5.0.
    Open FF, click submit feedback on the 'Help' menu to see what occurs.
    George's PC Specs Laptop. Desktop.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •