Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Winrar

  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Bombay,India
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Red face Winrar

    I am embarassed to ask this. I have two Winrar files. The first file continues on to the second. When I tried extraction from the first file, I am asked to insert a CD disc. So I put both Winrar files in a folder and tried extraction. I got the same message. Can you help? Many Thanks!!

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    I assume you are extracting from a right-click menu? I haven't used WinRAR, but some Unzip programs may detect that an archive contains a setup program and assume that you want to run it immediately. If you open the archive in WinRAR and then extract from there, does that make any difference?

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Bombay,India
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks for response. But no I open up winrar and try to extract the file that is in there
    and when it does the extraction it asks for a cd to be inserted to complete the extraction

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    Archives can be created retaining the original paths. If you click through the file structure, are there references to the drive letter that would be your CD drive? I think (!!) you should be able to extract to another location, but I've never used WinRAR.

  5. #5
    Lounger rlg118's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Land o' Lake-Effect
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
    WinRAR knowledge base and contact info here:

    http://www.win-rar.com/knowledgebase.html

    (What happens when you put a CD in?)
    Rob G

    "Sacred cows make the best hamburger." - Mark Twain

    -----------------------------------------------------------------
    HP G72-227wm - Windows 7 Professional x64 (SP1)

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vermont
    Posts
    114
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
    Normally if you download (or you yourself split a zip file) whatever program you use, winRar, WinZip, etc, normally assigns numbers at the end of each zip to differentiate them. Then to open them you simple put them all in the same directory and then open the first one and the others should follow inline. In your case do your two files have something like xxx.000 and xxx.001 or something like that? It sounds like you don't have this. What do these files look like? Does it have the little colored books symbol and with a title followed by .rar? Does it have a different extension than .rar? You can zip files and put them on a cd, it sounds like this is what happened. Now that you want to open the rar file its asking for the cd because thats where it is.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •