Thanks

Truly uninstalling software

I am looking to buy some new computers for my small business. I have always purchased from Dell in the past and the one time I bought an HP computer in the last 17 years I had to totally format the hard drive and load a new copy of windows to get rid of their fluffware. All I want is a functioning system so I can put what I want on it.

So now I'm going through the configuration for some Optiplex computers and I see that a basic version of Office - with ads, no less - comes as a default and there is no option to remove it from their online configuration sequence. And I notice that McAfee also comes with it with no option to remove it from the configuration. I will run McAfee on one of my computers when the other eight rings of hell freeze over.

In the past I have had no end of trouble completely ridding my systems of all this fluff that I do not want. I am new to Windows 7. Is it any different? Can I truly remove these things or will I have to format and load from scratch? Hopefully I get an actual copy of the Windows 7 installation disk and not some image to reload with the same stuff on it...

Thanks,

--Brian

Thanks
    I have found that most fluff can be removed fairly easily. There are several apps that can help:

PC Decrapifier (that is truly the name) can help with a lot of fluff.

Revo Uninstaller is one of the most discussed uninstallers in these forums. Finds a lot of leftover stuff that app or Wondows uninstaller leave behind

Absolute Uninstaller may find some 64 Bit apps that the free edition of Revo does not (free version is only for 32 Bit apps, Pro does all apps)

CCleaner can help with temp files, log files and such and is a great tool to help with periodic cleaning

Privacy Mantra works well in conjunction with CCleaner. They each seem to find stuff the other misses.

I hope these help to clean up your OS and makes them lean and mean.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted