Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Posts
    1,147
    Thanks
    180
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Email hyperlinks not opening webpages

    My OS is Win 7 32 bit with all updates and IE9 installed.

    Today hyperlinks in emails that normally work, such as those in newsletters from PC World, no longer function, and the only way I can get to the linked article is by copying the hyperlink and pasting it into the IE9 address bar.

    Does anyone know how to solve this problem?

    Advice would be appreciated.

    Thanks and regards,Roy

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 928 Times in 851 Posts
    What email client? This could be an email problem rather than an OS or browser problem.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  4. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Posts
    1,147
    Thanks
    180
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Hello Ted, I use Windows Live Mail and hyperlinks in emails worked until yesterday.When I copy a link as a shortcut and paste it into IE9 I get to the website but having to do this is obviously a drawback.

    Please advise further.

    Thanks and regards,Roy

  5. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,376
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 595 Times in 532 Posts
    Have you checked in Control Panel | Program Defaults | Set Your default Programs that both WLM & IE still have all their defaults set?

    Joe

  6. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 928 Times in 851 Posts
    Also, when you hover your cursor over the hyperlink, does the hyperlink change to reflect that it is truly a hyperlink? I noticed a change recently with WLM that my Live ID sign on always comes up whenever I open WLM. This happens on both mine and my wife's WLM on 2 separate PC's so I suspect a change either in WLM or my Live ID at the other end. This appears to be an added security step. I'm wondering if your problem may be connected. In looking through my WLM options I was unable to find any options that might be causing your problem, sorry.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  7. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Posts
    1,147
    Thanks
    180
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Hello JoeP517 and Ted.IE and WLM both have all their defaults, and when I hover the cursor over a hyperlink it does change to reflect that it is a hyperlink.

    If anyone has any other ideas I would be grateful to hear them.

    Regards,Roy

  8. #7
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 928 Times in 851 Posts
    I would try a System Restore to perhaps a day or 2 in the past when you are sure the hyperlinks worked. I sent myself a hyperlink (actually 2, 1 just pasting the url in an email, 2 actually using the Insert Hyperlink and naming it something else) from a different mail account. Both worked fine.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  9. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Posts
    1,147
    Thanks
    180
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Hello Ted,thanks for the suggestion,but I tried system restore to a few days ago when the hyperlinks worked and they still don't work.

    Any other ideas?

    Please advise.

    Regards,Roy

  10. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Posts
    1,147
    Thanks
    180
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Ted,referring to my comment in post no.6 I made a mistake in saying that when I hover the cursor over a hyperlink it does change to reflect that it is a hyperlink.In fact it changes from the usual blue colour to a faded grey. Does this info. give you any other ideas about the problem?
    Please advise.
    Thanks and regards,Roy

  11. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,376
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 595 Times in 532 Posts
    Is IE the default browser?

    Have you tried resetting IE (Tools | Internet Options | Advanced (tab) | Reset)?

    Although hyperlinks are not specifically listed you could try the script at IE FAQ - repair IE8 & IE9.

    Joe

  12. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Posts
    1,147
    Thanks
    180
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Hello Joe,

    IE is the default browser.

    I tried resetting IE and the script you mentioned, but the problem persists.

    Do you have any other suggestions?

    Please advise.

    Thanks and regards,Roy

  13. #12
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Posts
    1,147
    Thanks
    180
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    I did not change anything but this morning email hyperlinks have started working again.

    Hopefully the problem will not recur.

    Thanks Joe and Ted for your contributions.

    Regards,Roy

  14. #13
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 928 Times in 851 Posts
    Sometimes there doesn't seem to be an explanation for problems. Perhaps your ISP was having problems, who knows. Glad it seems to be working again.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  15. #14
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,376
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 595 Times in 532 Posts
    Did you re-boot? Often changes made such as those at the IE FAQ site require a logoff/logon or re-boot to take effect. In any event, I'll echo Ted in that I'm glad it seems to be resolved.

    Joe

  16. #15
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Posts
    1,147
    Thanks
    180
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Hi JoeP and Ted,

    The problem of hyperlinks not working has suddenly resurfaced, and I can think of no reason for this.

    Also, in Internet Explorer 9 I cannot change the option to use software rendering instead of GPU rendering. I could before, and only discovered this when I was going through the IE9 options to see if I could find any reason for the hyperlinks problem.

    Any suggestions as to how to resolve these problems would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks and regards,Roy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •