Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    185
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    XP Service Packs 2 and 3

    I am trying to install XP into VirtualBox running on Win7. My XP installation disc is pre SP2 and the installation of XP is demanding SP2 (and presumably will want SP3). I can find downloads on the MS site (like "WindowsXP-KB936929-SP3-x86-ENU.exe") but these are self extracting auto run exe's, which of course win 7 rejects. The VirtualBox XP install is looking for a CD that it can read the SP2 files from - but I cannot see any way of creating such a CD.

    Anyone help, please,
    Peter

  2. #2
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    185
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    OK - I found the .iso files - thanks.

    ten charac

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts
    Glad to be of help...
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    185
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Unfortunately the iso just burnt a cd that contained the same "WindowsXP-KB936929-SP3-x86-ENU.exe" autoextract file that did not work to start with. So I am still looking for how to get / create a cd with the SP2 update info - like an i386 folder for example. However if I put in a cd with a copy of i386 from an xp sp3 machine it is happy for a while then fails "Setup failed to install the product catalogs. This is a fatal error. The signature for windows XP Pro is invalid. the error code is 800b100"

    ?

    Peter

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Perhaps you could slipstream SP2 and SP3 into the XP OS and burn a CD from the slipstreamed info. A Google search shows many sites with info on slipstreaming SP3. I would assume the method would be the same for SP2.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,588
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Service Packs are generally cumulative. There would be no point in slipstreaming them separately you'd just be doing double work.

    See Steps to take before you install XP SP3 for prerequisites to check and basic troubleshooting information.

    Joe

  7. #7
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,420
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP517 View Post
    Service Packs are generally cumulative.
    I would prefix this with the two words "Operating System", because it doesn't always apply to Stuff like Office SPs...
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  8. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    185
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Weird solution found - thanks for the alternatives though! When the installation demanded "the CD marked Service Pack Two" I found that if I ejected the original SP install disc, and re-inserted it, the install process then proceeded to completion! After that of course I was able to use the autorun SP2 and 3 CD's I already had. Presumably some weird interaction between VirtualBox and the XP install process.

    Ah, well, thanks again for the suggestions, I suspect a fully slipstreamed XP -> SP3 disc would have worked fine too.

    Peter

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Thanks for posting your solutions. Sometimes these wierd solutions work the best.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •