Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Roanoke, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Microsoft Office Access Developer Extensions

    Quite simply I can install the extension, but cannot get Access 2007 to recognize it; it will NOT add from the add-ons area of Options. This addon had been working perfectly in the past. I have downloaded a new installation file again from MS and gone through all of the steps as usual with zero luck.

  2. #2
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Roanoke, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I still have not resolved this ... does anyone have a clue where I might diagnose and repair this major problem. I've exhausted the MS forums already with nothing meaningful coming back.

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger HiTechCoach's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Posts
    200
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 31 Times in 30 Posts
    See my article: Access 2007 runtime deployment - FAQs
    Scroll down to: Question: I have installed the Access 2007 Developer Extensions. When I click the Microsoft Office Button, I don't see the new Developer item. Where do I find it?

    Boyd Trimmell aka HiTechCoach
    Microsoft MVP - Access Expert


    Last edited by HiTechCoach; 2011-09-07 at 13:44.

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Roanoke, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have tried that method numerous times (and again after reading your kind reply) ... at the Step "Check Microsoft Office Access Developer Extensions COM Add-in" it is not there. I have tried browsing to it, I have tried moving it into the default folder, I have tried everything I can think of, nothing seems to work. I have uninstalled the extension and Access and reinstalled same ... aargh! Do you have any other advice in your arsenal that might shed a light on my problem.

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger HiTechCoach's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Posts
    200
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 31 Times in 30 Posts
    Do you have any other version of Access installed?

    Did you happen to run the installer for the Access 2007 runtime on the same machine?

    What version of Windows?

    Did you install the Office 2007 SP2 update?

    Have you tried the Office Repair option?

    Boyd Trimmell aka HiTechCoach
    Microsoft MVP - Access Expert


    Last edited by HiTechCoach; 2011-09-07 at 13:43.
    Boyd Trimmell aka HiTechCoach (Access Information here)
    Microsoft MVP - Access Expert
    "If technology doesn't work for people, then it doesn't work."

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Roanoke, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    No other version of Access installed.
    Runtime installer: yes i did and have uninstalled it.
    SP2: yes
    Repair option: no

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger HiTechCoach's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Posts
    200
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 31 Times in 30 Posts
    I am thinking that the registry keys got messed up when you installed the Access Runtime over the top of the full version.

    Try the Office Repair option.


    Boyd Trimmell aka HiTechCoach
    Microsoft MVP - Access Expert


    Boyd Trimmell aka HiTechCoach (Access Information here)
    Microsoft MVP - Access Expert
    "If technology doesn't work for people, then it doesn't work."

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Roanoke, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Tried the repair option, rebooted, ... still no luck. There must be a simple answer that's sitting right in front of me ... taunting me to find it.

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger HiTechCoach's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Posts
    200
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 31 Times in 30 Posts
    Just for grins try logging onto the machine with a different user profile.

    Boyd Trimmell aka HiTechCoach
    Microsoft MVP - Access Expert


    Boyd Trimmell aka HiTechCoach (Access Information here)
    Microsoft MVP - Access Expert
    "If technology doesn't work for people, then it doesn't work."

  10. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Roanoke, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Boyd,
    Well I've had my grins and they have turned to frowns. Created 2 new user accounts (one admin, one user w/o admin priv). Tried both and reinstalled extensions ... each time MS offered to "reinstall or install and repair" ... so I've tried all combos ... and nothing worked. What's odd is that I cannot find the "extensions" being installed anywhere on my computer. Can't even remember which .dll to look for ... the addons folder remains empty ... all of them. If I could find the file(s) maybe I could just browse to it from within Access as I try to activate the function. Now I'm totally stumped. I also went back and logged into the "SuperAdmin" account with the same result. Thankfully I'm not on deadline!

  11. #11
    3 Star Lounger HiTechCoach's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Posts
    200
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 31 Times in 30 Posts
    I don't use anything in the Developer Extensions for 2007 and 2010.

    On a test machine I will installed the 2007 Developer Extensions. I will let you know what files get installed.

    FWIW: I don't use the Package and deployment wizard in any version of the Developer Extensions. I just have not found them very good.

    Boyd Trimmell aka HiTechCoach
    Microsoft MVP - Access Expert


    Boyd Trimmell aka HiTechCoach (Access Information here)
    Microsoft MVP - Access Expert
    "If technology doesn't work for people, then it doesn't work."

  12. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Roanoke, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    What do you use?

  13. #13
    3 Star Lounger HiTechCoach's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Posts
    200
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 31 Times in 30 Posts
    I installed the 2007 Developer Extensions.

    DevExt.png

    I used the default location. The file is ...\Office12\ADDINS\AccessDE.DLL

    What type if installer package are you needing to create? Are you deploying within your local LAN? To remote PS or LAN?

    I generally create two installer packages. One for he Server for the back end. Another for the workstation. I use a laucher app to auto deploy any front end updates.

    Boyd Trimmell aka HiTechCoach
    Microsoft MVP - Access Expert


    Boyd Trimmell aka HiTechCoach (Access Information here)
    Microsoft MVP - Access Expert
    "If technology doesn't work for people, then it doesn't work."

  14. #14
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Roanoke, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Getting stranger

    The dll is in the proper location and when I browse to it and select it it is not added as an extension. A bit of further testing finds that Access will not allow any extension to be added. No error message, no nothing ... just drops back and only shows the PDF addon from Adobe Acrobat ... which is located in an Adobe location (as it should be as per Adobe info). Attached a screenshot so you can see the files in dir. I do not understand why it just flat out ignores without any error or abend message.

    I generally write my installation to a DVD or other external portable drive and this has worked fine in the past for me.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  15. #15
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Chicago, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    116
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Maybe you need to reregister it with Regsvr32.exe ??

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •