Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question Win7 does not display acceptable backup location

    In reference to "Build a complete Windows 7 safety net. Win7′s backup system has three major parts. [Newsletter Comp Version]" by Fred Langa, Windows Secrets Newsletter • Issue 288 • 2011-05-12

    My directly attached to my PC via USB (not used on my network) LaCie USB NAS 500 GB External Hard Drive never shows up, like it should from what the newsletter says:

    "Windows places the word Recommended next to the location it thinks is best, but you’re free to select other locations. For more information, see Microsoft’s Win7 Help & How-to page, “Where should I save my backup?” On the system shown in Figure 3, Win7 offers to save backups to a D drive, a DVD burner, or an external 1-TB drive."

    Lacie could not offer any assistance other than to contact Microsoft. Below are screenshots that show the Edmini drive is listed in my network and in the network adapters but is not listed in the Computer Management - Storage - Disk Management.

    computer-mgt-extl-drive-not-listed.jpg

    Network-adapters-Ethernet Disk-mini-USB-network-interface-2.jpg


    network-shows-edmini-usb-external-storage-drive.jpg


    Thanks for helping!
    Last edited by murphys-law; 2011-07-31 at 23:05. Reason: added "directly attached to my PC (not used on my network)"

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Hi murphys-law,

    Welcome to the Lounge,

    Only Windows 7 Professional and Ultimate support backup to a network location. What version are you using?

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to ruirib For This Useful Post:

    murphys-law (2011-07-31)

  4. #3
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Murphy, Welcome to the Lounge. New posters are always a welcome sight.

    I wonder if a 3rd party app such as Acronis True Image Home or Macrium Reflect would see the drive to allow storage on that drive. It is strange that Win 7 sees it in the network, but not as an acceptable backup site.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Medico For This Useful Post:

    murphys-law (2011-07-31)

  6. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Here you have a nice description of Windows backup and the features supported in each Windows 7 edition: http://www.winsupersite.com/article/...up-and-restore

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to ruirib For This Useful Post:

    murphys-law (2011-07-31)

  8. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I just woke up and missed that. Rui is correct. this may be the problem.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to Medico For This Useful Post:

    murphys-law (2011-07-31)

  10. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    external hard drive is directly connected via USB to PC I want to back up

    I'm using Win 7 Home Premium. According to the article and the referenced reply: "You can save a backup to an internal or external hard disk or other storage device, a recordable optical disk (typically a writeable CD or DVD), or a network share. (Network backup is not available in Windows 7 Starter, Home Basic, or Home Premium, however.)"

    My external hard drive is directly connected via USB to the PC I want to back up, so I'm not trying to back up to my network. So, it should show up, right?

    I tried Acronis a few years ago and didn't like it, but don't remember why. Is there any other way to have it show up without installing third party s/w?

    Thank you again.

  11. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    It's a nice article. So is "Build a complete Windows 7 safety net" by Fred Langa in the newsletter. That's how I came up with this question in the first place.

    So, should I give up? I manually back up important files but I'd like to be in the 21st century and automate it!

  12. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank you for the welcome and the article. I'm still at square one.

  13. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by murphys-law View Post
    Thank you for the welcome and the article. I'm still at square one.
    Hi,

    Looks like your disk intalls itself as a "network device", as your images show, even when connected through USB, if that is the way you connected to create the images on your first post. So I would be inclined to believe that my first reply is still valid - your Windows Home Premium won't be able to backup to that network device.

    This may be a long shot and I doubt that it will work, but you could try to map your network drive and see if windows can be fooled. Otherwise it seems you will require at least Windows 7 Professional to be able to use that drive for backups.

    An alternative would be to use Macrium Reflect free to backup your disk. It will allow you to create full images of your disk and it's a backup method many Lounge members use as a favorite.

  14. The Following User Says Thank You to ruirib For This Useful Post:

    murphys-law (2011-08-01)

  15. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I'm going to try Macrium Reflect. I'll let you know how it goes, ruirib. I gave myself the right user ID. This a.m. my computer can't find the USB external hard drive at all. Time to reboot again.

  16. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Update. I mapped the network drive but it still does not show up. I'm downloading Macrium Reflect now. Thanks!

  17. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by murphys-law View Post
    Update. I mapped the network drive but it still does not show up. I'm downloading Macrium Reflect now. Thanks!
    I thought so. It would be too easy a way to circumvent the Windows lower versions feature limitations.

    I think Macrium Reflect will solve your problem.

    Regards

    Rui

  18. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    West Chester, PA
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Ultimate does not recognize a backup HD connected to a Netgear600 router. reinstalling the backup and repair from the Win 7 disk does not restore the ability to backup using Win 7 Ult. So many boards have posted the same issue of the years with Win7 backups to anything other than direct USB connections to HD. It's a shame since I have to physcially connect my laptop directly to the HD with USB cable rather than use the wireless router. Even Win 7 backup will not worked hardwired through the router. Seems Win 7 Explorer is unable to use a mapped drive as a backup through the router. Tried loggin in to router, setting router with a direct passthrough, and erased the HD completely so that Win 7 would not find any of the backups made by direct USB cable. Still undecided what to do as Netgear, MS, and the HD manufacturer have no comments.

  19. #14
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    wvlord, welcome to the Lounge as a poster. It's always nice to see new posters in the Lounge.

    Unless you have a gigabite system, the NAS storage route would likely be much slower than the direct connected USB HD option. You might find you would like the dirsct connect better anyway after trying the other. Are there setup options in the Netgear set up for a NAS storage device?
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  20. #15
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by wvlord View Post
    Ultimate does not recognize a backup HD connected to a Netgear600 router. reinstalling the backup and repair from the Win 7 disk does not restore the ability to backup using Win 7 Ult. So many boards have posted the same issue of the years with Win7 backups to anything other than direct USB connections to HD. It's a shame since I have to physcially connect my laptop directly to the HD with USB cable rather than use the wireless router. Even Win 7 backup will not worked hardwired through the router. Seems Win 7 Explorer is unable to use a mapped drive as a backup through the router. Tried loggin in to router, setting router with a direct passthrough, and erased the HD completely so that Win 7 would not find any of the backups made by direct USB cable. Still undecided what to do as Netgear, MS, and the HD manufacturer have no comments.
    I think you will be better served by a third party app. We often recommend Macrium Reflect free, on the Lounge and I think your issue will be solved. As Ted stated, though, unless you have a gigabit network, backing up to the NAS can be a long running operation.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •