Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    1,070
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked 132 Times in 86 Posts

    Undeletable 'ghost' e-mails in Windows Live Mail



    LANGALIST PLUS
    Undeletable 'ghost' e-mails in Windows Live Mail



    By Fred Langa

    Many things changed as Outlook Express and Hotmail evolved into Windows Live Mail — but some things stayed the same.

    One annoyance that hung around is a database error that causes ghost e-mails, which won't easily go away.


    The full text of this column is posted at windowssecrets.com/langalist-plus/undeletable-'ghost'-e-mails-in-windows-live-mail/ (paid content, opens in a new window/tab).

    Columnists typically cannot reply to comments here, but do incorporate the best tips into future columns.


    Last edited by Tracey Capen; 2011-08-03 at 16:54.

  2. #2
    Lounge VIP bobprimak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Hinsdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    2,482
    Thanks
    176
    Thanked 152 Times in 129 Posts
    Compacting the database is an often overlooked maintenance step. We see here one of many reasons to do this on a regular basis. While compacting, it is also a good practice to empty the Trash, since too many messages in there can also corrupt an email database.

    Not mentioned in the article is that everyone should back up our email messages. This is easier in some clients than in others, but in all Outlook based clients, the .PST File(s) can be backed up to an external location, such as a hard drive or a Cloud based backup service. A good backup can provide for recovery from these sorts of corruptions if simple cleanup and compacting do not do the trick.

    With Thunderbird, Eudora and a few other clients, the user's Application Data will have a folder or folders which contain the profile data and email messages. These can be backed up with a simple copy/paste operation. Restoration is then just as simple as a copy/replace move.
    -- Bob Primak --

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    211
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 20 Times in 17 Posts

    Exclamation Windows 7 SP1 ISO file download

    Regarding Fred's note on slipstreaming Windows 7 with SP1, it's not necessary to create a slipstream disk, as Microsoft has provided ISO images for Windows 7 SP1 for all Windows versions. See the links here to download your version, then burn the ISO to a DVD (which can be done from within Explorer). The resulting DVD is bootable, and can be used with your current Windows license key for a reinstallation, should you ever get to the point of needing to do that.

  4. #4
    Lounge VIP bobprimak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Hinsdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    2,482
    Thanks
    176
    Thanked 152 Times in 129 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bethel95 View Post
    Regarding Fred's note on slipstreaming Windows 7 with SP1, it's not necessary to create a slipstream disk, as Microsoft has provided ISO images for Windows 7 SP1 for all Windows versions. See the links here to download your version, then burn the ISO to a DVD (which can be done from within Explorer). The resulting DVD is bootable, and can be used with your current Windows license key for a reinstallation, should you ever get to the point of needing to do that.
    I don't know that I would want to hang on the Internet for eight or nine hours to download those massive DVD ISO files, but provided the original Windows 7 was properly licensed, this would seem to be one possibility for getting a Win7 SP1 updated install disk. As stated in the article, this is probably a waste of time and bandwidth, as Windows 7 has a lot of tools for system recovery without resorting to the old "wipe and reinstall" strategy.

    The one concession I did make was to order (This is not free!) from Microsoft, the Windows 7 SP1 upgrade DVD. It arrived within a week, and I can now reinstall in two stages if it ever comes down to that.
    Last edited by bobprimak; 2011-08-05 at 14:24.
    -- Bob Primak --

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Chillicothe, Ohio USA
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    My question if you need to repair win 7 and you have installed SP1 will the original disk work?

  6. #6
    Lounge VIP bobprimak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Hinsdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    2,482
    Thanks
    176
    Thanked 152 Times in 129 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jaj430 View Post
    My question if you need to repair win 7 and you have installed SP1 will the original disk work?
    No. You will need to remove SP1 and then reinstall Windows. Otherwise, the install media will treat SP1 as a higher version than the original, and refuse to proceed. However, the Repair Console should work just fine, except that any repaired System Files would lack any SP1 upgrades.
    -- Bob Primak --

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •