Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 35
  1. #1
    Star Lounger Look's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Avast AV blocking my mail

    I have started using Avast AV, now I can't get my mail in WLM 2010. Can you help please?

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Look, Welcome to the Lounge from across the big pond. New members are always nice to see.

    There must be a option in Avast that you can set to allow you to receive your e-mail. I do not use Avast, but I woud check through the options. Perhaps there is a permitted sites area or something similar.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    Star Lounger Look's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Thanks for the welcome, I have been using Avast on my Netbook for ages, as it updates itself just after turning it on. It never gave any trouble. I had been using Avira on my main PC, but changed to Avast as I was getting you know what OFF with the constant nags & popups.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    Try turning the mail shield service off in Avast options.

    Jerry

  5. #5
    Star Lounger Look's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Hello Jerry

    That seems to defeat the reason I installed it for.
    Jim.
    May you live as long as you want, and want to as long as you live.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    This will verify that it is causing the problem. If It is, you can go to the Avast Forums and search for an answer there or register and post your problem. A quick search I did found a message that stated that your mail client has to be setup in the Mail Shield application. Avast did a good job but I quit using it because I got tired of being nagged to re-register every year and Microsoft Security Essentials seems do just as good a job without the nagging.

    By the way, you don't lose much by turning off Mail Shield. The regular Avast app should catch just about everything Mail shield does, just later.

    Jerry

  7. #7
    Star Lounger Look's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Hello Jerry,

    Tried as suggested, must be something else.
    Jim.
    May you live as long as you want, and want to as long as you live.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    Unlikely, but I would disable any Firewalls except the windows firewall and the rest of Avast temporarily to narrow down the culprit. If you still can't run WLM, there must be something wrong in your settings and the Avast installation is just a coincidence. Otherwise, Re enable the Avast Services and any firewall one at a time to zero in on the cause.

    Jerry

  9. #9
    Star Lounger Look's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Hello Jerry,

    I have Avast on my Netbook, all shields active, WLM set as advised by Avast, everything works. Netbook uses Windows FW.
    Main PC has Outpost FW Pro, and can't get or send mail with Avast as above.
    Jim.
    May you live as long as you want, and want to as long as you live.

  10. #10
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    Did you completely disable Avast on the main PC and verify the WLM now works?

    Jerry

  11. #11
    Star Lounger Look's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    The main pc WLM worked when Avira AV was in use.
    Jim.
    May you live as long as you want, and want to as long as you live.

  12. #12
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    Thats not the issue. Disable Avast completely and verify that WLM works. If it does, Enable Avast features one at a time to determine which one is causing the issue. If WLM still doesn't work with Avast disabled, then you know its not related to Avast.

    Jerry

  13. #13
    Star Lounger Look's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    WLM has been working for years, it only stopped when Avast was installed. I have disabled Avast Mail Shield, then WLM works. I think its the Outpost Firewall.
    Jim.
    May you live as long as you want, and want to as long as you live.

  14. #14
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    We are having a hard time communicating. I thought you said earlier that WLM still didn't work when you disabled Mail Shield. See
    Hello Jerry,

    Tried as suggested, must be something else.
    above. If WLM works with Mail Shield disabled, then its not Outpost. You must have something wrong in the way Mail Shield is configured. I would register and make a post in the Avast Forums:
    http://forum.avast.com/
    explaining your problem. There are more Avast experts there.

    Jerry

  15. #15
    Star Lounger Look's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Hello Jerry,

    To get my mail scanned, Avast Mail Shield must be enabled, but won't work with Outpost FW enabled. If temporary replaced with Win7 FW it does work.
    I don't like Win7 FW which is why I bought Outpost FW.

    Look.JPG
    Jim.
    May you live as long as you want, and want to as long as you live.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •