Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Lenovo Z60t won't connect to wireless with password

    Hi all,

    I've been having trouble getting my Lenovo Z60t laptop (Windows XP) to connect to wireless networks requiring a password. We have one set up at both my mom's and dad's houses, I know the passwords to both, and my siblings can access both using these passwords (Dell laptops, one with Vista one with Windows 7), but when I enter the passwords I get this message: "The network password needs to be 40bits or 104bits depending on your network configuration. This can be entered as 5 or 13 ascii characters or 10 or 26 hexadecimal characters." I was able to connect easily to the wireless at my library, which does not require a password. I struggled with the ThinkVantage Access Connections program that came with the computer, so I removed it and am working through windows wireless. Any insights would be great!

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,404
    Thanks
    208
    Thanked 833 Times in 766 Posts
    megopidg,

    Welcome to the lounge as a poster.

    How old is the Lenovo? What form of encryption is the router using: WEP, WPA, WPA2, etc. The network card in the Levovo may not support the encryption method being used by your router.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  3. The Following User Says Thank You to RetiredGeek For This Useful Post:

    megopidg (2011-10-23)

  4. #3
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,736
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 241 Times in 229 Posts
    It could be that the wireless connection is AES and your lappy doesn't support AES. Do you have XP SP3 installed on the lappy?

    cheers, Paul

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Paul T For This Useful Post:

    megopidg (2011-10-23)

  6. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks for the replies!

    RetiredGeek, the computer is 5, almost 6 years old. Not sure what kind of encryption… my sister installed Windows 7 & that set up a password automatically, if that helps narrow it down. Would you suggest replacing the network card? If so, do you have any suggestions of what type of card my computer would need or where to look to find out?

    Paul T, I’ve been trying to install SP3, but it hasn’t worked the multiple times I tried, so I stopped trying. If I could somehow get SP3 installed, would that fix the problem?

    Thanks again!

  7. #5
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,404
    Thanks
    208
    Thanked 833 Times in 766 Posts
    According to the Lenovo repair manual for your machine the Wireless is built on the mother board so you can't replace it. You can disable it and get a USB Wireless unit though. Again according to the manual you can't have 2 wireless adapters so you must get in the BIOS and disable the one on MB. I'd recommend a Linksys unit but the key point is to get one that supports the latest encryption standards, i.e. WPA2, AES & TKIP and all the standards, i.e. 802.11 a/b/g/n.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  8. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,736
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 241 Times in 229 Posts
    I think you do need SP3 to run WPA on a wireless connection.

    cheers, Paul

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •