Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    NAS Visibility in Network View - Windows 7

    Hi All,

    (Running Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit)

    Resorting to the collective wisdom as I've failed to find a solution to this issue.

    I have a ThecusN5200 Pro NAS. If I look in Windows Explorer and select 'Network' I see all elements of my network but never the NAS.

    If I type '\\ThecusN5200' into the Windows Explorer address bar and hit 'Enter' then the NAS appears in the folder view with the NAS top-level folders shown in the right-hand pane. If I then select Network (with the Thecus NAS visible in the folder view) then the NAS still doesn't appear in the right-hand detailed view. I have mapped 2 NAS folders as Network Drives and these are always visible as additional drives as expected.

    I have tried all the suggestions I could find e.g. altering encryption levels etc and more can be seen in this thread:

    http://social.technet.microsoft.com/...3-85f506cc7c87

    Anyone got any ideas?

    Regards

    Skier641

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,199
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 986 Times in 916 Posts
    I think the NAS does not advertise in a form that Windows 7 recognises for inclusion in the network listing. This doesn't prevent you using the unit as you have described (\\The....). You could add a CNAME record to the DNS with a more friendly name, like NAS1.

    cheers, Paul

  3. #3
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Skier,

    My NAS shows up ok in Win-7 HP 64-Bit, although is does show up under the Computer heading. I'm using a LinkSys router.
    Just a thought do you have UPnP enabled on your router?
    Attached Images Attached Images
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Hi Paul T/RetiredGeek,

    I could rename the NAS to something more easily typed but I've used 'ThecusN5200' so often that I'm unlikely to ever forget it! I do have UPnP enabled. What I don't understand (and I'm not a Network engineer or IT Pro) is that if the NAS doesn't advertise in a form that Windows 7 recognises why is everything suddenly fine once I type in 'ThecusN5200?' Alternatively, shouldn't it be possible to add this device to my Network View and for it to be remembered?

    Regards

    Skier
    Last edited by Skier641; 2011-08-11 at 02:21.

  5. #5
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,199
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 986 Times in 916 Posts
    You can't add things to the network view, that's a Windows only area.
    You can permanently map to the drive so it's always visible.
    1. Open Windows Explorer.
    2. Select Map Network Drive, choose a drive letter and type in the path.

    cheers, Paul

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul T View Post
    You can't add things to the network view, that's a Windows only area.
    You can permanently map to the drive so it's always visible.
    1. Open Windows Explorer.
    2. Select Map Network Drive, choose a drive letter and type in the path.

    cheers, Paul
    "You can permanently map to the drive so it's always visible."

    Er, read the original post!

    Skier641

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    An update to this situation should it be helpful to anyone.

    Today I changed my router (from a BT Home Hub 2 to a BT Home Hub 3). Once set-up the Thecus NAS immediately showed up in the Network within Windows 7 Explorer. It seems it was probably something to do with the way the BT Home Hub 2 handled UPnP.

    Skier641

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •