Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22

Thread: Mouse Programs

  1. #1
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts

    Mouse Programs

    I am now using a Microsoft mouse and am replacing it today with a Logitech Mouse....

    My question is, should I un install The Microsoft Intellipoint Mouse software before I install the Logitech Mouse software?

    Thanks Guys
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Banyarola,

    Unless you have a "Fancy" mouse with a lot of extra buttons I would uninstall the MS software and stop there. A standard USB mouse should be recognized by windows and all standard features should work. I'd only install a mouse driver if some function of the mouse did not work. Remember K.I.S.S.!
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    He does have a fancy one, RG: http://www.newegg.com/Product/ImageG...0Laser%20Mouse

    I guess he will need to install the Logitech software, after removing the one from the MS mouse.

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts
    Yes RG, I have a 5 button Microsoft mouse now and am replacing it with another Logitech 5 button mouse and I know I need the Logitech software to program the buttons....

    So, based on what you say, there would be no harm in uninstalling the Microsoft Intellipoint before installing the Logitech software...
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts
    Ahhh, ruirib....Good memory.

    Yes, I use a five button....I usually program copy and paste in the buttons.
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Banyarola View Post
    Ahhh, ruirib....Good memory.

    Yes, I use a five button....I usually program copy and paste in the buttons.
    Yes, I did remember it .

    Both the Microsoft mouse and the Logitech would work as regular mouses without the need for extra software. However, to use the features they have that go beyond those of a regular mouse, you do need to install their own specific software.
    As you will be no longer using the Microsoft mouse, the uninstallation of the Intellimouse software is even recommended.

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts
    Yes, I'm aware of what you said...
    I found all this out the hard way once when I bought a mouse and keyboard set and then replaced the mouse and I lost the keyboard programming because the software was only for the keyboard mouse set...

    That's why I buy them separately now...

    Anyway, thanks for all the input...
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    No problem, you're welcome.

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts
    Well, I hope you remember all this because there will be a test next week on this topic....
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    I will use search unashamedly .

  11. #11
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,421
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    Potentially you could have an interesting situation...

    Remove Microsoft Intellipoint software --> Microsoft Mouse doesn't work...
    So how to install Logitech Mouse software without a working mouse?

    Compare installing a new ethernet card so that you can download the new ethernet driver...

    (I doubt you'll have an actual problem, though!)
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  12. #12
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts
    Not really Batcher...
    The software is only to take advantage of programming the additional buttons.

    If you boot with no software Windows loads a basic driver which will allow you to right and left click and scroll using the wheel.
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  13. #13
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,421
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    Irony, dear sir, irony...!
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  14. #14
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,798
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    I love the programmability of the mouse buttons with the Logitech driver on my wireless Revolution. I've got a one button programed to do a copy and another to do paste a third to do a page down. I've got the wheel programed to do a page back in my browsers when pushed to the left and to do a page forward when pushed to the right. You can even program the buttons to do different things in different programs like Word vs IE. Save a bunch of time for me. Sometimes its nice to go beyong KISS RG. :>)

    Jerry

  15. #15
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts
    I have my left button programmed to get me a beer and the other button opens it...
    I love technology...
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •