Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    New Lounger figarsd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Greenville, SC
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    HP Desktop won't power on

    I have an HP desktop that won't even power up. This started after the power went out while it was on. We unplugged it before the power came on, but thereafter it's been dead in the water. Any suggestions on what to look at for restoration, or does it go into the junk heap? (Um, yes, it was plugged into a surge protector at the time the power went out.)

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Does it do anything when you press the power button? Noise, beeps, LED lights (front or back) anything? If not could be a blown power supply. Course anything that can blow the PS could also fry other things.

    edit: Rui makes a good point below. Some PS have a Ground Fault protection built in and either the reset button or power switch on the PS itself might fix the power problem.
    Last edited by Medico; 2011-08-10 at 18:21.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Hi figarsd,

    Doesn't necessarily mean that it goes to the junk heap. May be simply a PSU issue and a replacement PSU is rather cheap. I would probably suggest a visit to a local repairshop, unless you think you could replace the PSU yourself.

    In previous circumstances where that happened to me, turning of the switch for the Power Supply Unit itself, turning it on again, and then turn the computer on again solved it. Not sure all PSUs have this though.

  4. #4
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Paducah, Kentucky
    Posts
    427
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 67 Times in 64 Posts
    It's also possible that the surge protector was damaged.
    Sometimes plugging the computer into a different outlet will do the trick. It's worth a try(?).

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RockE View Post
    It's also possible that the surge protector was damaged.
    Sometimes plugging the computer into a different outlet will do the trick. It's worth a try(?).
    I would say definitely. Sometimes we do tend to forget the obvious solutions and yours looks like the first thing to be tried .

  6. #6
    New Lounger figarsd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Greenville, SC
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Thanks and update

    Thank y'all for the suggestions. The power switch does nothing. Pressing it results in zero response, not even a click. I have tried several different outlets, including ones I know are "hot" because the lamp plugged into it works. I will have to check out the power supply internally to see if there's any switches inside...haven't done that yet. Thanks again.

  7. #7
    New Lounger figarsd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Greenville, SC
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Further update:

    I've now checked the power supply for any kind of reset switch and no joy. It is a Bestec model ATX-250-12Z. Anyone have any idea how one can verify the status of a power supply without spending an arm and a leg for equipment?

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    993
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 43 Times in 43 Posts
    Just curious - With power cord connected, do you see a small green light on the motherboard that turns off when power cord is disconnected?

  9. #9
    Bronze Lounger DrWho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    1,501
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 205 Times in 163 Posts
    Bestec is probably the worlds worse PSU. A 250 is way too small for todays PC's and can fail for any reason at all.
    I'm surprised that a quality company like HP would use such a crappy supply. *see footnote

    Just take it out, go to a store like Staples (you should have plenty of sources in Chicago) and buy an Antec Earthwatts 350 (or better) and install it in your PC.

    Do check that surge suppressor. Some are known to have a fuse inside that will blow out if hit by too hard a surge.

    Good Luck,
    The Doctor

    * Footnote:
    Some time back, I cleaned out my junk box and trashed out 14 failed PSU's. Twelve of the 14 were made by Bestec, and all failed with bursting and leaking filter capacitors. In one supply, a capacitor had actually exploded and was plastered all over the inside of the PSU case.
    Experience is truly the best teacher.

    Backup! Backup! Backup! GHOST Rocks!

  10. #10
    New Lounger figarsd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Greenville, SC
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    tfspry, I haven't opened the box with the power on, not wanting to experience a shocking moment.

    DrWho, thanks for the advice. May I ask how your TARDIS is doing these days? I hope none of those PSUs were attached to anything critical to the TARDIS function!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •