Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Reston, VA
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question Backup Error 0x81000037

    Backup Error 0x81000037
    This has been occurring for the last month or more. The backup fails at 97% reporting the subject code consistently. I googled it and came up with a repair procedure which I won't bother to repeat. Why? It's so baffling as to be utterly useless except perhaps to the writer. And although being no geek, I am very computer savvy and familiar with registry and Command Prompt work.

    Any ideas and help is appreciated.

    Harry

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,583
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,058 Times in 927 Posts
    Is Windows backup or restore error 0x81000037 the article you mean?

    Joe

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Reston, VA
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP517 View Post
    Is Windows backup or restore error 0x81000037 the article you mean?

    Joe
    Yes, Joe.

    An additional observation about the Windows Backup: I have 16 Gigs RAM. Before I ran the Backup, I was showing 15% memory in use; after the Backup failed memory usage was at 22% and remained at that level indefinitely. I consider the 7% rather a large chunk compared to the other two high users in constant all-day use: Soundsaver - 1% - FF6Beta - 1%.

    Harry

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    S.F. Bay Area, California, USA
    Posts
    735
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 80 Times in 78 Posts
    I have long since felt that M$ needs to publish a comprehensive, easy-to-understand statement of what "reparse points" are, when they are used, and what to do about them.

    Zig

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Reston, VA
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [QUOTE=Zig;814909]I have long since felt that M$ needs to publish a comprehensive, easy-to-understand statement of what "reparse points" are, when they are used, and what to do about them.

    Hi Zig. After deleting all the Shadows files, I think, but am not absolutely clear, the backup still fails with the same error. Fortunately I also use the EASEUS TODO 3.9 Free, to perform the weekly backup auto-scheduled. Been TODO for a long time without any hiccups like the MS thing.

    I wonder why MS bothers to publish incomprehensible terms like Reparse Points without a definition? And since there have been only two comments on the message subject error code, I'll assume it's rare but makes the application useless. Now I think I'll look at deleting it.

    Harry

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Have you tried a different Backup / Image app to perform your backups? Not sure why Win 7 Backup is not working, but many of us consider it less than adequate for the task anyway. There are many discussions in the security and Backup Forum.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    S.F. Bay Area, California, USA
    Posts
    735
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 80 Times in 78 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ted Myers View Post
    Have you tried a different Backup / Image app to perform your backups?
    Ted,
    That's why he mentioned EASEUS Todo Backup v.3.0 (not v.3.9) Free; I can't say it's not without its own set of "hiccups," however.

    Zig

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Sorry, I missed that when I read the post.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Reston, VA
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Zig View Post
    Ted,
    That's why he mentioned EASEUS Todo Backup v.3.0 (not v.3.9) Free; I can't say it's not without its own set of "hiccups," however.

    Zig
    Sorry for the typo. I also added Macrium Reflect yesterday. It is quite a bit faster than V3.0.

    Harry

  10. #10
    Lounger rlg118's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Land o' Lake-Effect
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
    Windows Backup died for me sometime between July 27th and last weekend.

    "The backup application could not start due to an internal server error. Server execution failed (0x80080005).

    Yeesh. Since I now have Acronis, I'll be using that.
    Rob G

    "Sacred cows make the best hamburger." - Mark Twain

    -----------------------------------------------------------------
    HP G72-227wm - Windows 7 Professional x64 (SP1)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •