Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Firefox 6 Release Notes

    These can be hard to find, so in case anyone wonders what's new: https://www.mozilla.com/en-US/firefox/6.0/releasenotes/

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,426
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 212 Times in 180 Posts
    Hi Loungers,
    NO Java in FF 6.

    Attachment 28901
    George's PC Specs. / Laptop. Desktop.

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochdale, UK
    Posts
    875
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 58 Times in 58 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roderunner View Post
    Hi Loungers,
    NO Java in FF 6.
    Shouldn't that be no Java console 7.0 in FF6?

    I've just updated to FF6 and Java 6u26 works fine but I was warned that the console wouldn't work just like your screenshot.

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,426
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 212 Times in 180 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Browni View Post
    Shouldn't that be no Java console 7.0 in FF6?

    I've just updated to FF6 and Java 6u26 works fine but I was warned that the console wouldn't work just like your screenshot.
    It seems you never looked @ my image.
    George's PC Specs. / Laptop. Desktop.

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochdale, UK
    Posts
    875
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 58 Times in 58 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roderunner View Post
    It seems you never looked @ my image.
    Errm, yes I did! Your screenshot shows that the Java CONSOLE is not compatible but your text states that there is no Java whatsoever.

    I also added that the Java version immediately prior to 7.0 has the same issue in that the CONSOLE is not compatible but Java still functions.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    All my Java consoles were disabled but seemed impossible to remove. I found them lurking in a program folder (C:\Program Files (x86)\Mozilla Firefox\extensions) and removed them from there. I don't miss them at all.

    To confirm that the Java "player" (JRE) is still working, you can use this test page: http://www.java.com/en/download/testjava.jsp
    Last edited by jscher2000; 2011-08-17 at 16:44. Reason: Added a note.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,865
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 556 Times in 504 Posts
    Shows Java is working on my FF 6. Java console is also disabled but I don't miss it either.

    Jerry.

  8. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Coon Rapids, Mn
    Posts
    127
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Roderunner View Post
    Hi Loungers,
    NO Java in FF 6.

    Attachment 28901
    Isn't that a kick in the butt? No consolee, but java still works. Add on developers can't keep pace with FF's new release a version a month schedule. Lots of plugins don't work with FF6 yet, but most of my favorites do.

  9. #9
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,426
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 212 Times in 180 Posts
    I've solved FF6 problems in 2 moves, 1, uninstall it, 2, install Mozilla Aurora. Only one add on I know that does not work is 'BetterPrivacy'
    George's PC Specs. / Laptop. Desktop.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •