Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Can't Access Certain Secure Sites (5.5 SR2)

    Until recently I could access any site with no problem. Now CERTAIN secure sites are unreachable. I get a DNS error. To see if it was specifically IE related, I also downloaded Opera and tried it. Same problem. To see if it might be cable modem related, I also installed a free dial-up service and you guessed it, the same problems accessing just 2 sites.

    To see if it related in any way to where I am physically located or something specific on my Dell, I took an old computer and reformatted the drive and installed the W-98 that came with my Dell machine and again attached to the internet with my cable modem and voila, I can again get into any site that I want to. Note that with both my old machine and my Dell, I installed and used Zone Alarm so the firewall doesn't seem to be the problem. On my Dell I can shut everything down except IE, Explorer & Systray and still can't get into the sites.

    Is there anyway around this problem other than completely reformatting the hard drive on my Dell and reinstalling all of the software all over again? I suspect that there is something on my Dell that just will not let me access the two sites. I sure hate to reformat and load everything again if it isn't necessary as I have so much stuff loaded. I have already tried the IE repair function in Add/remove programs without success. Upgrading IE to v 5.5 doesn

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Can't Access Certain Secure Sites (5.5 SR2)

    Anything in your c:windowshosts file that could be mapping those domains to incorrect addresses?

    If you use the numeric address (web-based nslookup available at <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.infobear.com/nslookup.shtml>http://www.infobear.com/nslookup.shtml</A>) can you https://numeric.address/ ?

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't Access Certain Secure Sites (5.5 SR2)

    Both sites that I can't access have given me their numeric addresses and using them doesn't help either.

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Can't Access Certain Secure Sites (5.5 SR2)

    Did you try to add these two sites to Trusted Sites list (Tools | Internet Options | Security | Trusted Sites | Sites) ?

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't Access Certain Secure Sites (5.5 SR2)

    Yes, that had no impact either. This thing is really a mind boggler.

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't Access Certain Secure Sites (5.5 SR2)

    That is interesting. Are you getting the "DNS error" if you use the numeric IP address? On the surface, that would be somewhat strange -- DNS is not being used.

    And it is ONLY "secure" sites, correct? I would have to fall back on these:

    First, check under Help | About Internet Explorer. See if the "Cipher Strength" reads "128-bit". If it does, skip this. However, If you are showing zero Cipher Strength, check this out:
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://support.microsoft.com/support/kb/articles/q261/3/28.asp>Cipher Strength Appears as 0-Bit in Internet Explorer</A>.
    This has cured a few people's problems with IE and secure connections -- especially with IE6.

    Some people also have recommend clearing out your Cookie folder and the TIF...

    Lastly, take a quick look at this:
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://support.microsoft.com/support/kb/articles/q181/1/47.asp>Unable to Connect to Secure Web Page Using Internet Explorer</A>
    -which suggests:
    The PCT (Private Communications Technology) 1.0, SSL (Secure Socket Layer) 2.0, or SSL 3.0 security check box is not selected.

    Then this is too old to be your problem:
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://support.microsoft.com/support/kb/articles/Q232/0/98.ASP>Internet Explorer Error Message When Viewing a Secure Web Site</A>
    But I include it for completeness.
    ______________________

    Lastly, when you used the numeric IP addresses, if this was a secure site connection, MAYBE you needed to specify the port?? This is an off the wall guess. But try to enter the numeric address with ":443" at the end. That is the Secure Socket Layer port... Is that logical??

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't Access Certain Secure Sites (5.5 SR2)

    Yes, I still get the error if I put in the numeric IP address. If I just put in the numeric IP, it says that it can't find it, but if I put in http:// and the numeric IP address, it gives me the same 'page can

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't Access Certain Secure Sites (5.5 SR2)

    It would be a colon [:] before the port number.

    You MAY want to try https:// for a secure site connection as well. If none of this works, then the problem might be at their end?? Especially if it is only a few sites...

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't Access Certain Secure Sites (5.5 SR2)

    The colon was one of the options I tried and it didn't help as I said. It also doesn't make any difference is you put the 's' after 'http' or not.

    The reason that I don't think it is at 'their end", which I assume you to mean the sites I am trying to reach, is that I reformatted the drive in an older computer of mine and installed the same version of W-98, SE that is on my Dell along with Zone Alarm and everything works fine. All I do is move the cable from the cable modem from one machine to the other. One works and the other doesn't. That is why I feel that something is lurking on my Dell that I can't put my finger on that is causing the problem. At least that's my logic.

    In addition, on the Dell, the problem exists with my cable modem with IE and with Opera. It also happens if I use a dial up modem with IE.

    My only solution, regretfully, might be to reformat my drive and start all over again, even though that will mean a lot of time on my part.

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't Access Certain Secure Sites (5.5 SR2)

    May I ask what sites are the problems?

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't Access Certain Secure Sites (5.5 SR2)

    Sure, one is citibank. I can reach www.citicards.com, but when I click on sign-on, it tries to reach www.accountonline.com/CB/Login.jsp (which has a numeric of 192.193.211.193). That is the point where things break down and I get the error message.

    The other site is Morgan Stanley. To sign on there one uses www.dwdean.com ( numeric 205.183.243.137). Again this is where the error message comes.

  12. #12
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
    Posts
    569
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Can't Access Certain Secure Sites (5.5 SR2)

    I had a similar problem accessing my company's Computer Based Training system. The CBT program would not work with IE5.5SR2, IE6, or Netscape 6.x because those newer browsers do not use plugins in the same way as older versions. I could reach the site but when I attempting to log into my account, it bombed. Since MS has made it next to impossible to backup to previous versions of IE, try installing Netscape 4.78 and give that a try. I have a hunch it might just work - beats reformatting.

    http://home.netscape.com/download/0730101/...e-128_qual.html

    Note: Same thing with my WellsFargo account until they certified IE6 to work with their system - took them about 4 weeks after release to do so however.
    Bill (AFE7Ret)
    Freedom is NOT Free!
    Heat is the bane of all electronics!

    ─────────────────────

  13. #13
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't Access Certain Secure Sites (5.5 SR2)

    OK, let's see. I am able to get to the www.citicards.com sign on page by clicking the <A target="_blank" HREF=https://www.accountonline.com/CB/Login.jsp>Sign-on</A> link. This takes me to this page:
    https://www.accountonline.com/CB/Login.jsp

    You will note the https -- for the secure connection. Also, the page is a "JavaServer Page" -- .jsp extension. What is this?

    JSP is a dynamic scripting capability for web pages that allows Java as well as a few special tags to be embedded into a web file (HTML/XML, etc). The suffix traditionally ends with .jsp to indicate to the web server that the file is a JSP file. JSP is a <u>server side technology</u> - you can't do any client side validation with it.

    For more information, check out the <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.esperanto.org.nz/jsp/jspfaq.jsp#q1>JSP FAQ</A>.

    SO.... is your Java up-to-date? Perhaps you need to update you version of Microsoft Virtual Machine? (Just a guess). Open a Run box and type "wjview" (no quotes) and hit Enter. At the end of the first line in the resultant window is your JavaVM version -- the most recent is 5.00.3802.

    Next, the IP addres that I get for that page is: 192.193.208.177 -- not the same as you posted.(?) If I type that into my browser address bar, it will attempt to take me there -- but it fails. However, if I enter it this way:
    https://192.193.208.177:443
    It works -- for me. That is with the "s" after the http, and with the SSL port #443 at the end.

    I will have to look at Morgan Stanley later. But check out the above first. Good luck.

  14. #14
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't Access Certain Secure Sites (5.5 SR2)

    OK, the Morgan Stanley sign on page is an "Active Server Page" (.asp). That is similar to a .jsp, but this is a Microsoft design.

    The full address there is: https://www.dwdean.com/Default.asp.

    The numeric IP address I get is: 204.115.164.70 -- again, not the IP address you posted.(?)

    If I enter https://204.115.164.70:443 in my address bar, I am taking immediately to the sign-on site.
    _______________________

    NOTE: It looks like the "443" is not needed, but CAN be used (for compulsive people like me!). Try it both ways...

    NOTE #2: Where did you get your IP addresses from? If they are from your DNS server, then perhaps the problem lies there -- you are being directed to the wrong numberical IP addresses.
    ___________________

    Addendum: It looks like the citibank site uses different servers at different times. I am now at work and the IP address above does not work.(?) Now I get this:

    This is the web site as it appears in my address bar: https://www.accountonline.com/CB/Login.jsp
    This is the IP addess my computer went to: 192.193.211.196.

    If I enter that into my address bar with https: in front of it, I was taken here:
    https://www.accountonline.com/CB/Login.dcl

    The page looks exactly the same, but note the .dcl extension (Dialog Control Language). Weird stuff!! ?????

  15. #15
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't Access Certain Secure Sites (5.5 SR2)

    I checked my JavaVM and my version is the up-to-date one you mentioned. As for the numeric address for Citibank, the one I get if I do a tracert in DOS is 192.193.208.152, but the address I gave you is the one that Citbank themselves say is the correct one. The one you note is still different. According to some I have talked to it depends upon where you start from. I am located in Texas.

    I tried your numeric address for Morgan Stanley and it gives me the same page with the error message. Again with that address, the one I gave you is the one that Morgan Stanley themselves say is the numeric address.

    I can't explain why there are so many different addresses for the same location one is trying to reach.

    As for the comment that someone else made to try an older version of IE, I originally had 4.0 and still had the problem. Dell recommended that I upgrade to 5.5 which I did with no success. I still have to believe that there is some code somewhere on machine either in IE or Windows itself that is causing the problem. Otherwise I wouldn't have the issue with a cable modem, dial up modem and cable modem using an entirely different browser (Opera). Yet when I use the exact same apparent set up on an older machine that I reformatted and loaded with only W-98 and Zone Alarm, I can get into either site by simply moving my cable modem cable from one machine to the other. That to me would tend to rule out the cable modem and Zone Alarm as being the problem. That then brings me, at least , back to the operating system or some hidden file that is mucking the works up. Otherwise why would the problem exist for both IE and Opera??? It sure is mindboggling!!

    I sure do appreciate all of the suggestions. If I can get it to work without reformatting and loading everything all over again, I'll post to let you know, but right now it looks like my chances are between slim and none and slim just left town!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •