Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 69
  1. #1
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts

    Acronis True Image update

    I just received an email from Acronis offering an upgrade to Acronis True Image 2012 Home. Many new features but it looks like the boot disk option is gone...at least in the promotional material on line it is not listed.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Did they offer any specialized pricing for current 2011 users (I have not received the offer yet)
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ted Myers View Post
    Did they offer any specialized pricing for current 2011 users (I have not received the offer yet)
    Ted,

    They offered me {I have 2010} a price of 29.99. Don't know if it's less for 2011. The email was customized with my name and version.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Well I guess I will see if/when I get the email.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger RussB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    803
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 50 Times in 49 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek View Post
    Ted,

    They offered me {I have 2010} a price of 29.99. Don't know if it's less for 2011. The email was customized with my name and version.
    Same here, I have 2011 & Value Pack.
    No need to wait for your email:
    Acronis True Image Home 2012 Upgrade
    Do you "Believe"? Do you vote? Please Read:
    LEARN something today so you can TEACH something tomorrow.
    DETAIL in your question promotes DETAIL in my answer.
    Dominus Vobiscum <))>(

  6. #6
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,414
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    Time to observe the (not unusual) ripoff if you want to buy in pounds sterling, UKP, s.
    At the time of typing 1 ~= $1.65. Thus the $30 upgrade price would translate to just over 18. How much do they want? 24.
    For shame.
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RussB View Post
    Same here, I have 2011 & Value Pack.
    No need to wait for your email:
    Acronis True Image Home 2012 Upgrade
    I guess I have to decide if I want to spend yet another $30. I have 2010 on wife's PC and 2011 on mine. Both do the job for me. I might just hold off for now and see how things shake out.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  8. #8
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek View Post
    I just received an email from Acronis offering an upgrade to Acronis True Image 2012 Home. Many new features but it looks like the boot disk option is gone...at least in the promotional material on line it is not listed.
    Thanks to Just Plain Fred's post of a link to the User Manual I know that the above statement is incorrect. You can create Bootable Media in many formats.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  9. #9
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BATcher View Post
    Time to observe the (not unusual) ripoff if you want to buy in pounds sterling, UKP, s.
    At the time of typing 1 ~= $1.65. Thus the $30 upgrade price would translate to just over 18. How much do they want? 24.
    For shame.
    BATcher,

    As my nephew who married a Brit and lives in Brighton says, "To avoid the HURT don't CONVERT!" I have to mutter this phrase over and over every time I visit Jolly Ole England.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  10. #10
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,414
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    Actually the usual answer for UK-based persons is to buy in dollars, and let your credit card company do the conversion for you at (in my case) quite a fair conversion rate. This even applies to some extent to Amazon US, but the Acronis figures take the biscuit for ripoffity...
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  11. #11
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central Coast, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    The Aussie price is $39.99, even though the exchange rate is US$1.04 to AU$1.00. Ripoff. And no upgrade for me.

  12. #12
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Perrorist,

    It must cost a lot to ship those bits all the way "Down Under".
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  13. #13
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts
    I don't buy any Acronis updates unless there are some features in the new addition I want.

    While I have been using Acronis for years, they are notorious for coming out with new versions and rarely fixing the bugs in the previous versions..

    In my opinion, if it works now for you don't bother spending money on a newer version...
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

  14. #14
    Star Lounger Erniek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scottish Borders
    Posts
    66
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 11 Times in 6 Posts
    I have received my upgrade "offer" and also think that as per usual we in the UK are once again paying more for the [supposed] benefit than in certain other countries. I usually wait until it is available in the likes of Amazon where the FULL program [not upgrade] sometimes goes on sale for a couple of pounds more than the upgrade offer direct from Acronis.

    I am not too sure of the legal standing but it is my understanding that if you choose to go the upgrade route you CANNOT install the previous version onto another PC because you NEED that serial number to install the upgrade version as well as the new number. But if you decide to go the route of buying the FULL version the older one can then be used [legally] on another PC.

    Another reason for waiting is that you can normally get a "package deal" of TI and DD [disk director - at present version 11]. Acronis have a very bad habit of holding DD upgrades\new releases back for a few weeks, If you wait until this is released and get both at the same time then you can save a few pounds. You also get time to find out if the new version is worth the money and see if there are any issues with it.
    ErnieK
    Last edited by Erniek; 2011-08-25 at 05:25. Reason: Adding signature which did not append automatically
    ErnieK

  15. The Following User Says Thank You to Erniek For This Useful Post:

    essex133 (2011-08-25)

  16. #15
    Silver Lounger Banyarola's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Big Indian, New York
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 65 Times in 54 Posts
    If you want to find out about any issues then just check out the support forums for True Image..

    They have never released a new version without a host of new problems including the same problems that were in the version you upgraded from.

    When they started using the year in their name it was a clever ploy, that seems to have worked, to make users buy, what they think, is a new version that is obviously the older version with a few new bells and whistles that you never even thought you needed or wished you had in the older version..

    Like I have said in the past, I like True Image... I just don't need to buy a new version-or upgrade-every year..
    "If You Are Reading This In English, Thank A VET"

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •