Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Spofford, TX, USA
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Firefox 6 - Multiple iterations load at startup/Can only start manually

    Downloaded FF6 made it my default browser, started it up and got 7 copies of the browser. Had to manually close 6 and then enter my destination. I had noticed this in FF5 and took it off default, started using Chrome instead. Had problems with it accessing certain types of pages, so switched to IE 9 but really wanted FF so downloaded 6 but found the same problem again with many iterations of the browser starting up.

    Also find that if I click on a link in my email FF does not start, I have to manually enter the information for it to go to the URL.
    John Quigley

    "Wish not so much to live long as to live well."
    --Benjamin Franklin, Poor Richard's Almanack, 1746

  2. Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

  4. #3
    5 Star Lounger chowur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    804
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 54 Times in 51 Posts
    I don't know if you uninstalled the previous programs before you installed the newer or not so.I would like to suggest this,FREE program;http://www.revouninstaller.com/revo_..._download.html
    For backing up your bookmarks etc;https://support.mozilla.com/en-US/kb...+settings&as=s
    Problems cannot be solved by the same level of thinking that created them. -Albert Einsten

  5. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Spofford, TX, USA
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Smile

    Quote Originally Posted by jscher2000 View Post
    A word of thanks for the article, I have followed the thoughts and information and will do the work it suggests. Will see if it works out the way it should. Again thank you.
    John Quigley

    "Wish not so much to live long as to live well."
    --Benjamin Franklin, Poor Richard's Almanack, 1746

  6. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Spofford, TX, USA
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have run REVO and it says that the only iteration of Firefox on my computer is 6.0, so I guess I am good to go there. Thank you for pointing out this program.
    John Quigley

    "Wish not so much to live long as to live well."
    --Benjamin Franklin, Poor Richard's Almanack, 1746

  7. #6
    5 Star Lounger chowur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    804
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 54 Times in 51 Posts
    Just a thought here.When FF opens in 7 copies do they,ALL have the same home page?
    Problems cannot be solved by the same level of thinking that created them. -Albert Einsten

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •