Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Unhappy Computer shut down unexpectedly.

    Not five minutes ago, my Dell Inspiron 400 went down with a loud bang. I sat there starting at a black monitor screen in a state of disbelief. Saying a silent prayer I pushed the On button and waited for Windows to start. On the screen came a message asking if I wanted to start Windows normally, which I did.

    When it started my desktop wallpaper loaded with the top third of the screen blank, with the normal scene on the bottom two-thirds. I had to go to Webshots Desktop and re-select the wallpaper.

    Why would the computer shut down like that? Could this be the start of a big problem?

    Gloria
    Last edited by Duchess843; 2011-08-25 at 15:50. Reason: correct spelling
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  2. #2
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,414
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    Did it overheat? Have you recently pulled out the mains cord, then opened the case and removed all the fluff, feathers, hair, dust, and so on from the whole interior, especially the fans? (Best take the system unit outside into the yard, and use a can of compressed air to blast the gunge out. Wear a mask and protective clothing... )

    CoreTemp would be the usual utility I'd suggest to monitor the CPU temperature, but Dell haven't implemented the temperature sensors on their motherboard that the utility would use.
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I would definitely create a new Image right away as this could be the start of some kind of hardware failure. Better to be safe than sorry.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  4. #4
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Could also be an issue with a driver.
    Look inside the event viewer for an exact date/time stamp for the time just prior to the shut down.
    run; "eventvwr.msc" without the quotes.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    Also, whenever your computer is shut down like that, its a good idea to run chkdsk /f to make sure a file didn't get corrupted.

    Jerry

  6. #6
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Duchess843 View Post
    Not five minutes ago, my Dell Inspiron 400 went down with a loud bang.

    Why would the computer shut down like that? Could this be the start of a big problem?
    Gloria,
    Hello... The loud "bang" could only be caused by component failure ...most likely a capacitor on a power supply rail (or internal to the power supply itself)... Open your case and have a look around , paying attention to burnt or bulging components... especially the capacitors ( cylindrical looking do-dads) ... If something is "toasted" you can smell it! Once you find the offending part ( if your lucky ) depending on your expertise you would need to replace it and hope for the best... As a "Technician" i have seen many power supply capacitors go bad (become resistive ) Not a big deal as long as they don't take out anything else with them.... Run "CPUID Hardware monitor " HW Monitor Free to check your voltages. Regards Fred
    Last edited by Just Plain Fred; 2011-08-27 at 17:25.
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Batcher, if you can find a picture of my computer, you will find this is not a desktop computer that sits on the floor or in cabinet. It's a desktop computer that looks like a square jewlry box, it's enclosed and dust and feathers can't possible get in, and I certainly can't take it apart for cleaning. It sits on a wing of my computer desk and doesn't take up hardly any room at all.

    But, thanks for the suggestion.

    Gloria
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Ted, I have already done that.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I will do that, Clint. I should have thought to check it right after it happened.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Isn't that the one that will ask you to insert the installation disk?
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  11. #11
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Just Plain Fred,
    See my reply to Batcher. I can't possibly open the case. If somethings burnt or broken, a brand new compter's required.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  12. #12
    Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,168
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 134 Times in 115 Posts
    Hello Gloria, just to chip in a little here.....

    As Just Plain Fred the "Bang!" is a sign of component failure. Anything that makes a bang implies lots of energy and that means a high current surge, damage and reliability problems. Frankly, I'm surprised that the box is still running, but perhaps you got lucky.

    It's fairly easy to open and inspect (if I've identified the machine correctly from your description); here's a link to a YouTube Video that shows how to open it up. If you are not sure about doing that, I would take it to a local reputable computer repair shop for remedial work.

    You should be prepared for the worse, but hope for the best and keep your new image backup safe in case you need it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •