Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Escondido, California, USA
    Posts
    1,458
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Missing Internet Connectioin

    A friend just replaced his router, but now he gets a message to the effect the the Internet connection is disabled. As best as I can tell (via phone) he has the modem/router/computer setup connected properly. Lights on the front of the new modem look normal. But the computer can't connect. Any thoughts on what might be the problem?

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger chowur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    804
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 54 Times in 51 Posts
    Need more information the brand of the router.In order to help.But in windows,go to start then run type in,CMD.Then type in;ipconfig all.Then type in ipconfig/release.Then type in ipconifg/renew.You might have to do the same to the new router.But you need to know what band & model before hand.It should show something in the manual.On how to do the suggestion's above.
    Also make,DOUBLE sure the cable coming from the modem to the router is connected to the router in the back,Where it reads INTERNET.
    Problems cannot be solved by the same level of thinking that created them. -Albert Einsten

  3. #3
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Escondido, California, USA
    Posts
    1,458
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thanks, I'll give it a try tomorrow when I see my friend.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,793
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    Also, try turning off power on the modem and the router,wait about 20 seconds, then power up the modem first and wait for it to stabalize. Then turn on the router and wait for it to stabilize. Then try the internet again.

    Jerry

  5. #5
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Escondido, California, USA
    Posts
    1,458
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    My friend hadn't run the router installation program. I put the CD in, it configured the router and he now has an internet connection. It's really hard diagnosing computer problems over the phone. Once sitting in front of his computer I noticed that he hadn't opened the installation CD envelope -- dumb me, I should have asked when on the phone and saved myself a trip.
    Last edited by Chuck Tucker; 2011-08-26 at 22:02.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Chuck, you have brought up a good point. Most routers work very well with the built in Windows installation, but I seem to have more success with the S/W delivered with the router. If things don't work, try installing the S/W that comes with the device.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  7. #7
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Escondido, California, USA
    Posts
    1,458
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Hi. That's what I did -- i.e. run the S/W that came with the router and that worked. However, now I can't get his wife's laptop IE program to connect although her computer indicates that it is properly wirelessly connected to the new router. However, that is the subject of an entirely separate post that I am pursuing in the Lounge.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •