Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 40
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Escondido, California, USA
    Posts
    1,458
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    IE won't connect on wireless laptop

    I helped a friend install a new wireless modem, but IE won't connect on his wife's Vista SP2 laptop. When I go to the wireless connect window it shows the wireless connection is OK and it has a strong signal. However, when running Internet Explorer it cannot connect. As far as I can tell the wireless connect is there and working, but not IE or her Email program.
    Any suggestions?

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Hi Chuck,
    Check the Firewall settings.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I would open the Network and Sharing Center (right click on internet icon in taskbar). You might have to setup a new connection or network.
    Last edited by Medico; 2011-08-27 at 07:02.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  4. #4
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Escondido, California, USA
    Posts
    1,458
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I did work briefly with that, but no luck. I'll have to give it another try.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,798
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    open up a command prompt. Type IPconfig /all and publish the results here.

    Jerry

  6. #6
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Escondido, California, USA
    Posts
    1,458
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Unfortunately I'm doing this via phone with my friend, so I'm having to write down what he tells me, but here it goes:

    Host Name ... Bettyjo-PC [That's his wife's computer name]
    Primary Dns Suffix ...
    Node Type:... Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled ... No
    WINS Proxy Enabled ... No

    Wireless WIN Adapter (etc.):
    Connection Specific DNS Suffix ... san.rr.com
    Description .. Atheros AR5007 (etc.)
    Physical Address ... 00-23-4D-08-DF-CB
    DHCP Enabled ... Yes
    Auto Config ... Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address: (very long hexidecimal-like series)
    Default gateway... 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server ... 192.168.1.1

    There is a bunch of other data, but the above is the first part.

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Isn't there an IPv4 address?

  8. #8
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Escondido, California, USA
    Posts
    1,458
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Sorry, right underneath the IPv6 is this line:

    IPv4 Address... 192.168.1.105 (Preferred)

  9. #9
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,798
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    That implies you have a good connection to the router. Right click on the wireless symbol and select troubleshoot problems.

    Jerry

  10. #10
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Escondido, California, USA
    Posts
    1,458
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Yes, it has a good wireleess connection. I've been around the bend with the "troubleshooting problems" option to no effect. For some reason Internet Explorer and the Email program simply don't connect.

  11. #11
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,798
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    Open a cmd window and type ping www.microsoft.com. What are the results?

  12. #12
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Escondido, California, USA
    Posts
    1,458
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Ping returns "Ping request could not find host" which is no surprise. Somehow programs on the laptop are unable to connect through the wireless connection.

  13. #13
    Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,168
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 134 Times in 115 Posts
    Hello Chuck,

    your friend is being assigned an IP address by the router, but a ping of an external website does not work. That indicates a problem with the DNS configuration.

    There could be a number of things causing that, so please bear with me.

    • Sorry to ask an obvious question: Is broadband connected? If the dsl connection has failed, there will be no external internet access.
    • The IPConfig /All data you supplied says something about a DNS setting of san.rr.com. Can you check the DNS settings in the network adapter? Is it set to get DNS automatically, or is there an IP address there? (Open the wireless adapter properties and drill down to the TCP properties to find this info). If there is an IP address entered in the DNS settings what is it?
    • Browse to the router login page, drill down into its Wide Area Network (WAN) settings and check the DNS settings. Is it set to automatically receive DNS from the service provider or is it set to a specific ip address (if so what?).
    • In the router config page, can you adjust the DNS settings? If you can, try setting DNS to 208.67.222.222 and 208.67.220.220 (the OpenDNS.org servers). This will override anything from your friends service provider.
    • If you can't adjust the router DNS settings, try setting the laptop to the Open DNS settings above in the wireless adapter TCP settings.


    By the way, I just tried to ping san.rr.com and it failed. It recognised the ip address as 24.25.195.1, but failed to reach the host. I tried a traceroute to 24.25.195.1 which also failed to identify a route to the dns host. I'm not familiar with that host, so can't say for sure, but possibly the dns host is offline. If that's the case, the above fixes to change the DNS settings to Open DNS should work.

  14. #14
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,798
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    I was going to ask Tinto's first question as well. There should be an indicator light on your router that indicates a good internet connection to your cable/DSL modem. Read the documentation that came with your router. If you have a good internet connection, follow the rest of Tinto's excellent advice.

    Tinto, san.rr.com (Roadrunner ISP?) may be behind a walled garden only accessible by the ISP's customers.

    Jerry

  15. #15
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Escondido, California, USA
    Posts
    1,458
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    To repeat what I said before: The router is set up correctly. My friend's computer is hardwired to the router and it connects to the Internet with no problems. Running Ping www.san.rr.com from his computer (XP SP3) returns the ISP's IP address OK. san.rr.com is their ISP (San Diego Road Runner). In other words the Internet connection works normally from his computer.

    The problem lies with his wife's laptop that connects wirelessly. At the laptop when checking the wireless connection it advises that it is connected OK. So she has a live wireless connection to the laptop, but internally the software (IE and Email) somehow can't find the connection.
    So I don't think the problem lies with the router. It looks like they need to reconfigure the laptop. I'll suggest going to IE Tools | Internet Options | Connections and follow that setup. I'll report back as soon as I know anything more.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •