Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Southeast Michigan
    Posts
    63
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Unhappy Can't remove HP printer software

    If this post is in the wrong section, mods please move.
    I am unable to remove the HP printer software using add and remove. It will go so far then stop and nothing happens. I have been trying to remove this for a week now and I'm not getting anywhere. I hope someone will be able to help. Thanks.

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 928 Times in 851 Posts
    Good afternoon squire, welcome to the Lounge as a new poster.

    It's probably because the S/W is partially removed and the uninstaller may not be able to find the uninstall file. You may have to reinstall the S/W, then I would use an app such as Revo Uninstaller to perform the uninstall. A 3rd party uninstaller tends to leave far less leftover junk behind during the uninstall. An app such as CCleaner may help find the leftover stuff as well.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  4. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Southeast Michigan
    Posts
    63
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thanks Ted for your reply, unfortunately HP in its wisdom wants to uninstall the software before allowing a new install.

  5. #4
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,203
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 212 Times in 199 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by squire View Post
    Thanks Ted for your reply, unfortunately HP in its wisdom wants to uninstall the software before allowing a new install.
    squire,
    Hello....HP is a real pain when it comes to their printers and software... This is what i have done in a case such as yours
    1. Using the HP printer install.. screen search for remove all associated with this program ,or something similar sometimes it's not always obvious.

    2. If you have found this and it didn't work .... you have to do the removal manually

    3. Run the free program "Everything" or another good one is "Agent Ransack" also free. Once downloaded and installed "Search" for all things HP ....But be careful as HP has it's "hooks" in many other things

    4. Do a complete OS backup just to be safe ...post back if you don't know how...

    5. Delete the folders that relate to HP (printer)

    6. Re-install HP software ...Make sure you pay attention to each screen ... as they give you choices that are not so obvious. Regards Fred
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  6. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Southeast Michigan
    Posts
    63
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thanks Fred, give me the instructions for the back up if you would.

  7. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 928 Times in 851 Posts
    Read the various posts on Imaging in the Security and Backup Forum for instructions on Imaging (This is the "Gold Standard" of whole disk backups IMHO)
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  8. #7
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,203
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 212 Times in 199 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by squire View Post
    Thanks Fred, give me the instructions for the back up if you would.
    squire,
    Hello... OK ... First thing i would do is get the free program Macrium Reflect (Free) ..Macrium Free Download and install it . You can also use "Windows Backup" that is already installed on your system... It's just not as versatile as Macrium Reflect and you would be better served using it over the Windows option .. (my preference ) many reasons

    1. Read through the Macrium "Help" (comes with the program ) or click on "?"

    2. Image your OS and save the image someplace safe... External or Internal HD or if you have neither save it to a folder of your choice.

    3. If you have not done a Image before this might be overwhelming to you, but we will get you through this (small learning curve well worth the time spent) As Ted Has stated do a search on Macrium (this forum) as there is much information ... Post back with any questions The Image will allow you to recover in case you delete something that you shouldn't have ...Takes about 10 minutes or so to recover... Regards Fred

    PS: As we do not know the "level" that you are at ... we have to start at the beginning ... no disrespect intended.
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  9. #8
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 928 Times in 851 Posts
    There is even a Step By Step Instructions for Macrium Reflect posted quite some time ago. These instructions were written under the old Lounge and the images did not follow in line, but should be easy to figure out.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  10. #9
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Southeast Michigan
    Posts
    63
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thanks again both of you. I have backed up my drive with Macrium and will now proceed to uninstall the SW. I take no offense nor feel disrespected. I continue to learn and find it gratifying having teachers such as you both. I appreciate the time you are spending with me and the knowledge I am gaining. THANK YOU! I'll report back with my progress.

  11. #10
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 928 Times in 851 Posts
    Good luck squire. I did finally switch from HP and went elsewhere (Canon). HP always was one of the worst, IMHO, in not supporting their products for new OS'es. CCleaner (see my post #2) may be a big help in finding HP stuff after you delete the stuff Everything finds.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  12. #11
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,203
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 212 Times in 199 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by squire View Post
    Thanks again both of you. I have backed up my drive with Macrium and will now proceed to uninstall the SW.
    squire,
    Hello... One more thing...Make sure that you make the "Boot-able Macrium Recovery Disk" (the LINUX Version) and actually try it out (without actually doing the recovery) This is your best "tool" in case of disaster ( other than actually having Ted there with you ) Regards Fred
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  13. #12
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Southeast Michigan
    Posts
    63
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Just Plain Fred View Post
    squire,
    Hello... One more thing...Make sure that you make the "Boot-able Macrium Recovery Disk" (the LINUX Version) and actually try it out (without actually doing the recovery) This is your best "tool" in case of disaster ( other than actually having Ted there with you ) Regards Fred
    Fred the instructions suggested to use the other, not the Linux. Will Linux version work on WIN XP Pro?

  14. #13
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,203
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 212 Times in 199 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by squire View Post
    Fred the instructions suggested to use the other, not the Linux. Will Linux version work on WIN XP Pro?
    squire,
    Sorry ...didn't know you had XP Pro.. as i don't yet have XP Pro installed (in process) i can not comment other than to say... try them both and see if any of them work .. You will know when you try and boot them up ...If it's not loading "Macrium" all you will get is a black screen with a blinking cursor. Regards Fred
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  15. #14
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Southeast Michigan
    Posts
    63
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thanks Fred.............another situation, I'm getting a lot of errors trying to delete with Agent Ransack:
    Cannot delete file: Cannot read from the source file or disc.
    At this rate I don't think enough will be deleted to install the SW. What you think?

  16. #15
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 928 Times in 851 Posts
    squire, did you check the registry using CCleaner. You might find a lot of HP stuff through this method. Also check in CCleaner, Tools, Startup tab and ensure there is nothing in your startup folder related to HP. If so delete it. It's possible you can't delete something because a component is still running in real time. Many apps feel they need to run at startup and it just ain't so.

    Fred, thanks for the endorsement although I am unable to travel to southeast Michigan at present.
    Last edited by Medico; 2011-08-28 at 11:11.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •