Thread: Easy Transfer

New Lounger
    Thanks

Easy Transfer

Hi. This is my first time here. Just picked up Woody's All-in-One book for Windows 7. Just starting out on Windows 7 for the first time since being an XP lover for years. I also got my A+ last year and frankly, I feel like I'm wimping out by using Easy Transfer with Belkin's cable kit.

Anyway, my question is this....should I install my old programs on 7 before I start the transfer? Or does it matter?

Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    There is no need to install the programs before the transfer. I actually prefer to do the transfer before the programs are installed, as some of them use the info if it is available at the time they are installed.

New Lounger
    Thanks
    Thanks. That makes sense. I feel better now.

Thanks
    You may not need to do the Easy Transfer. If you install Win 7 in the XP partition, Win 7 will create a folder called windows.old that contains the entire XP OS with all it's folders. You can grab all the stuff directly from here without using the Easy Transfer (I have read of a lot of problems using Easy Transfer) You would still have to install all your apps, but your documents, favorites, pics, music, etc can be copied/pasted directly from the windows.old folder to the new locations in Win 7.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted

Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)

Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

New Lounger
    Thanks
    Thanks, Ted. I didn't mention that Win 7 is on a different computer. I was just being lazy. In my present job, we are transferring old XP files to new XP computers by just backing up the data files. A couple years ago, the company used transfer software that cause a lot of problems. They learned from the mistake and have us transferring manually. But here, I'm going from my XP to 7 and I'm just not that confident.

Thanks