Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Escondido, California, USA
    Posts
    1,458
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Linked Table Manager Missing

    I migrated a 2003 Access app to 2010. However, now when I click on Linked Table Manager nothing happens. Needless to say I can't link to my back end file with all the tables in it. Any ideas on what's going on here?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Mt Macedon, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,993
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts
    Does the Linked Table manager appear greyed out , as in the following picture?
    LinkedTableManager.gif

    This happens if there are no Linked Tables. You use the Linked Table Manager to manage tables that have already been linked, but not to link new tables. So you can't use it unless there are already Linked Tables.

    To link tables you need to use External Data...Access.
    Regards
    John



  3. #3
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Escondido, California, USA
    Posts
    1,458
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Odd as it may seem the program showed the table as linked, and the linked table icon was not greyed out. However, I couldn't open the table and clicking on the non-greyed out linked table manager resulted in nothing happening. So I went to External Data .. Access and linked all my tables which gave them the original table names with the number 1 attached. In other words I had an original table named tblDirectory shown as a linked table, but it obviously had the wrong link. When I used External Data Access it came in as tblDirectory1. So I deleted all the old tables and renamed the new ones back to their original names.
    Whatever they did between Access 2003 and 2010 sure managed to screw things up. I'm still having troubles with one report that calls up text and pictures. The pics don't show as I'm sure it's another problem with pointing to the wrong directory. I'll have to rework the code for that one.

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    All I can say is that all my databases which used linked tables in previous Access versions are working normally in Access 2010.

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger HiTechCoach's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Posts
    200
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 31 Times in 30 Posts
    Note: There are known issue in Access 2010 with the link table manager and relinking tables. Microsoft is aware and working on a fix.

    I would recommend deleting on the linked tables and recreating the linked tables.

    Boyd Trimmell aka HiTechCoach
    Microsoft MVP - Access Expert


    Last edited by HiTechCoach; 2011-09-07 at 13:42.

  6. #6
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Escondido, California, USA
    Posts
    1,458
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    That's basically what I did. I created new linked tables and deleted the old ones. At least that works.

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger HiTechCoach's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Posts
    200
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 31 Times in 30 Posts
    FWIW: I always include VBA code in all my databases to handling the relinking. At start up I test the back end's location. If not found I start the relink process.

    See: How to Manage Your Linked Tables

    Boyd Trimmell
    aka HiTechCoach
    Microsoft MVP - Access Expert


    Last edited by HiTechCoach; 2011-09-07 at 13:41.
    Boyd Trimmell aka HiTechCoach (Access Information here)
    Microsoft MVP - Access Expert
    "If technology doesn't work for people, then it doesn't work."

  8. #8
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Escondido, California, USA
    Posts
    1,458
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Now that's a great idea. Thanks.

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger HiTechCoach's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Posts
    200
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 31 Times in 30 Posts
    It is really great if you are using Access in Runtime mode.


    Boyd Trimmell aka HiTechCoach
    Microsoft MVP - Access Expert


    Last edited by HiTechCoach; 2011-09-08 at 10:05.
    Boyd Trimmell aka HiTechCoach (Access Information here)
    Microsoft MVP - Access Expert
    "If technology doesn't work for people, then it doesn't work."

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •