Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    101
    Thanks
    27
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Word 2000 error closing documents

    Word 2000 Error

    When I close a document in Word 2000, the white area [the paper] goes then I get an error menu, which says.

    "Microsoft word for windows has encountered a problem and needs to close"

    I do not get it in any other program with in Office 2000.

    I have run the repair mode, and reinstalled it, the error is still there.

    Any ideas chaps

    Oldn

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    It can be challenging to track down the cause of this sort of problem without knowing a lot about your Word environment. This "self-help" thread describes the steps needed to track it down: Systematic Approach to Behavioral Problems in Word | Windows Secrets Lounge. Apologies for the weird formatting, it was posted when the Lounge used different software. (Also, it used to be the #1 post in the thread, but was later updated, so I think that's why it moved down.) Does that help?

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    101
    Thanks
    27
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Thanks Jscher2000 I will have a read, and I will get back to you.

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    101
    Thanks
    27
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Hi Jscher2000

    I have deleted all the word temp files I could find.
    I have deleted the normal.dot
    I have deleted a couple of files in the template folder like ~$normal.dot
    And I still have the problem

    Oldn

  5. #5
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    Does it work correctly if you run it with customizations disabled?

    Start > Run > winword.exe /a

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    101
    Thanks
    27
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Thanks fore getting back to me

    I don't know.
    What does winword.exe /a do

    Oldn

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    2,970
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 29 Times in 27 Posts
    If you happen to have any add-ins installed, this will start Word, without allowing any of the add-ins to run.

    Gary

  8. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    101
    Thanks
    27
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    I just tried that Gary but the problem is still there.

    Thanks any way

    Oldn

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •