Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Kendrick, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    277
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Access 2003 application - maintenance needed and users locked out

    On startup, the application displays a switchboard - period. The database window is not available (and function key access does not work). The menu is customized, trimmed to a minimum. View and Tools have been removed. The system creator this is long gone.

    The person for whom the database was created needs changes, fixes, and I cannot find a way into the system. I created a new file and imported all the objects - which shows me a multitude of design sins. Is there a better way to break in? From what I see in the import, I'm guessing there is little I don't have, but I'd feel better knowing.

    Thanks for any help.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Mt Macedon, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,993
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts
    Does Shift key access work? (probably not)
    Unless it has been disabled, holding down Shift while the database is opened bypasses startup options.

    Sometimes when Shift key access has been disabled, there is something setup to turn it back on. You might be able to find that in the file where you have done the import.

    Here is an example of the type of thing to look for.
    Regards
    John



  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Allow Bypass Key DB

    The attached will Unlock/Lock a database externally. Run the DB and supply the full path to the DB your having trouble with. Select the "Unlock" button and then click on "Set Property"...viola!

    I would give credit to whomever wrote this but it is not included in the documentation and I've had it for years and don't remember the source.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi
    My user has changed the properties of the switchboard, and now it is locked up tight. The app above does not work for me as I have Access 2010. Any ideas? I don't want to have to go back to a backup because i will need to reload the database.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Mt Macedon, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,993
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts
    Can you provide more info about "locked up tight". What can you and can't you do?
    The app works for me with 2010? What happens when you try to use it?
    Regards
    John



  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi
    My user has changed the properties of the switchboard, and now it is locked up tight. The app above does not work for me as I have Access 2010. Any ideas? I don't want to have to go back to a backup because i will need to reload the database.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Mt Macedon, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,993
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts
    You have just repeated your previous post. Should I repeat my previous response?
    Regards
    John



  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Holding down the Shift Key worked! Thanks.

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Mt Macedon, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,993
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts
    Good. I am glad you sorted it.
    Regards
    John



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •