Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,370
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Slip-Streamed SP-1 Win_7 CD Won't "Upgrade

    Using the slip-streamed DVD, I still get an error that my Windows version is newer than that on the DVD. So I cannot run an upgrade once I install SP-1?

    Regards,
    Chuck Billow
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    S.F. Bay Area, California, USA
    Posts
    735
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 80 Times in 78 Posts
    You're right; it won't. You need to upgrade using a disc from the SP1 factory .iso files (using the serial number from your original installation disc).:

    http://techdows.com/2011/07/download...oad-links.html

    Zig

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I did read recently that slipstreamed DVD's will not work properly for certain applications. The iso file should work fine as Zig has mentioned.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,370
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    Ted, I'm not understanding: I run the ISO directly and not make a DVD?

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,370
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    Cool! Thanks Zig.

    Regards,
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    To use the SP1 iso file linked by Zig, it should be burned to a DVD.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,370
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
    Just gave it a shot, and it worked great. Thanks to both you guys.


    Regards,
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    You are welcome. Glad it helped.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  9. #9
    Lounger rlg118's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Land o' Lake-Effect
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
    Hmm... just wondering why the file numbers are different. The Home Premium x64 SP1 is listed as X17-24209.iso, while the one I downloaded is named X17-58997.iso.
    Rob G

    "Sacred cows make the best hamburger." - Mark Twain

    -----------------------------------------------------------------
    HP G72-227wm - Windows 7 Professional x64 (SP1)

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I have no idea why the numbers are different. I downloaded the HP and Ultimate versions and the file was the EXACT same size. This tells me these files contain all versions of Win 7 just like the retail versions and your key will unlock the correct version. The only choice you need to make is 32 Bit or 64 Bit.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  11. #11
    Lounger rlg118's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Land o' Lake-Effect
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
    What I found, after waiting for the 24209 download, is that the file size for X17-24209.iso is 3,319,478,272 bytes, while X17-58997 is 3,320,903,680. Exactly where the difference lies I have yet to determine.

    The modified dates on the 24209 are 2010-11-21 at 04:33; 58997 is 2011-04-12 at 05:38.

    I guess I'll stick with the later version.
    Rob G

    "Sacred cows make the best hamburger." - Mark Twain

    -----------------------------------------------------------------
    HP G72-227wm - Windows 7 Professional x64 (SP1)

  12. #12
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    57
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    I found this. It shows all the links and seems to explain that there was a media refresh (This media refresh includes the installation hotfix described in KB Article 2534111. No other changes have been made to the product.). Follow the various embedded links if you are interested in all the versions/details.

    http://forums.mydigitallife.info/thr...amp-X64/page60

    http://forums.mydigitallife.info/thr...uild-INFO-ONLY

    There are articles that show that burning the DVD and removing the ei.cfg file will allow the creation of a DVD that allows the installation of *any* version of Windows 7. My experience is different. I downloaded the Home premium 64 bit version. I started to install and successfully got as far as displaying the fact that was Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 and it wanted me to accept the terms and condition. I haven't done the install yet and verified that there is no issue with an OEM upgrade key for a retail download. TBD. I'll post later on this.
    However, I burned a version with the ei.cfg file removed. Sure enough it showed a screen that showed 4 versions and I selected 'Home Premium'. It then said 'windows is unable to display the images needed for this install' and would not proceed. So that did not work for me.
    Last edited by bbrener; 2011-09-08 at 16:10.

  13. #13
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    57
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bbrener1 View Post
    I haven't done the install yet and verified that there is no issue with an OEM upgrade key for a retail download. TBD.
    Update:

    I have Vista 64 bit OEM running Windows Home Premium. I have an upgrade copy of Windows 7 home premium. Vista came installed on a PC I bought (not made myself). It showed activated. I installed Windows 7 from the downloaded ISO and ran it from Vista to install in a separate partition on the same hard drive. I did not upgrade Vista or boot standalone, but I am sure that would have worked as Vista is installed on they first active partition. .
    The install went fine and dual boot works perfectly although WIn7 is the default. I will change it with EasyBCD. I entered my key when asked and had no issues. everything booted and is running fine. I chose not to activate at this time. That will now have to be TBD but I want to see if I am happy first. I may have to phone if it will not do it automatically.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •