New Lounger
    Thanks

Funny problem with merge letter

I'm using Office 10 in XP3. I use a number of merge letters with header information and a data document to store the data for the merged letter. I save my main file normally after use. When I re-use the file, instead of using the header document, Word begins using the data document for use as the header form? It keeps doing it - must be a setting that I messed up - so I must manually re-insert the header document into my main document?

Any ideas?

Thanks
    This has gone unanswered for a while. I suspect your terms might be the reason.

I've been doing mail merge work for more than 25 years and am unfamiliar with the term header document.

Most of my merges are done using documents created with merge fields based on templates that are connected to a data source. The source document is ofter referred to as the primary and the data source as the secondary. The result of a merge is ofter referred to as the merge document.

I can break the merge linkage, in which case I would have to reform the link if I wanted to insert different data.

I doubt that I have addressed your problem and I may have just exposed my ignorance, in which case I apologize.
    Charles Kyle Kenyon
    Madison, Wisconsin

New Lounger
    Thanks

A screen shot of the mail merge helper

I have created a number of mail merge templates that allow to do boilerplate text with fields that are inserted from information saved in a data.doc file. The headers for the information are a separate document. I enclose a screenshot of the mail merge helper that is included with Office

Attachment 30177
    When I restart Word - the data file has now become my header file and I need to manually re-install the header file. Does this illustrate my problem?

Thanks
    I get an invalid link when I try to look.

Consider not using the wizard (helper). Open your header document. Choose recipients (data) under the Mailings tab.