Lounger
    Thanks

Pasting Formatted Text (Excel 2000 SR1)

Why does Excel strip all formatting from the text I paste into a cell? I can't find anything in the help file about this. It doesn't retain color, font, size . . .anything#@$!

It doesn't seem to matter where I get the text from either. If I copy from Word or another Excel cell.

I'm new to Excel but I didn't figure on having any problem this simple. Have I missed something?

2 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Re: Pasting Formatted Text (Excel 2000 SR1)

David,

Me again!

Get a copy of the current Woody's Office Watch, V6#46 which is discussing Pasting Text and have a read. Also get last week's if you can, in fact every week is worth a read!!

I haven't read mine yet, so can only say I understand your problem, and I know Excel seems very much the boss of its own patch!

Hope this helps

Peter Moran

Lounger
    Thanks

Thanks Peter. I have already read this weeks WOW. I was already using the PasteUnformatted Text macro in Word97 at work and Word2000 at home.

My problem is the opposite, namely, getting Excel to paste formatted text.

Uranium Lounger
    Thanks

David, I don't know that it can be done as text pasted into Excel inherits the active Excel Style, even in a textbox. However, you could embed a blank Word document or embed the actual Word document in the spreadsheet. Insert, Object, either MS Word, then cut and paste the desired text, or Create from File, select the file, then edit after it's inserted to Excel.
    -John ... I float in liquid gardens
    UTC -7ąDS

Thanks

Do you mean you want variable formatting of the text inside the cell?

Cheers
    [b]Catharine Richardson (WebGenii)
    WebGenii Home Page
    Moderator: Spreadsheets, Other MS Apps, Presentation Apps, Visual Basic for Apps, Windows Mobile

Lounger
    Thanks

No. I just want to be able to bring formatting to any cell from another location (another cell or another program like Word).

Thanks