Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Star Lounger Look's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Is Firefox in error? (print discrepancy vs. IE)

    Hello,
    the 2 attached pdf's were done using CutePDF Writer. Is FF one caused by another FF error.
    IE9.pdf Firefox 6.0.1.pdf
    Jim.
    May you live as long as you want, and want to as long as you live.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    Obviously there is a font problem with the print header/footer font used in Firefox. I don't think there is an end-user setting to change that specific font, but you might want to confirm that your browser fonts are all standard TrueType/Outline fonts and not Adobe Type 1 fonts.

    In the Options dialog > Content tab > Fonts & Colors section > Advanced button

    The zoom level (print scaling) looks a bit different as well. Was there a particular issue on which you were looking for comments?

  3. #3
    Star Lounger Look's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Hello jscher2000

    Its just that I keep finding niggling little faults in FF. Here's the settings.

    Capture.JPG
    Jim.
    May you live as long as you want, and want to as long as you live.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Look View Post
    Its just that I keep finding niggling little faults in FF. Here's the settings.
    Yes, all software has niggling little faults. We tend to use the ones that bother us least.

    I would definitely change "System" to something like Times New Roman.

  5. #5
    Star Lounger Look's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Tried 3 other fonts, no change in pdf.
    Jim.
    May you live as long as you want, and want to as long as you live.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Look View Post
    Tried 3 other fonts, no change in pdf.
    Just to confirm we are talking about the same thing, the header area still contains gibberish, or is there a different issue?

    Could you check whether you have any other "Times" fonts?

    If you open a cmd window from the Start orb (e.g., type cmd.exe in the search box and press Enter), then try this:

    dir c:\windows\fonts\tim*

    On Windows 7 (64-bit) I get:

    Code:
     Directory of c:\windows\fonts
    
    11/04/2010  07:00 PM           834,240 times.ttf
    11/04/2010  07:00 PM           840,736 timesbd.ttf
    11/04/2010  07:00 PM           619,972 timesbi.ttf
    11/04/2010  07:00 PM           661,244 timesi.ttf
                   4 File(s)      2,956,192 bytes
    If I try this:

    dir c:\windows\fonts\sys*

    I get nothing.

  7. #7
    Star Lounger Look's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    The issue is still the same.

    Capture.JPG
    Jim.
    May you live as long as you want, and want to as long as you live.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    If the fonts themselves are okay, and you've tried a variety of different fonts, one other thing to try is to clear (reset) Firefox's stored printer settings. This article has the steps:

    http://kb.mozillazine.org/Problems_p...#Reset_printer

    If that doesn't help, then you might try posting on the mozillaZine forums with a link back to this thread.

  9. #9
    Star Lounger Look's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Hello, I reset all about:config settings with CutePDF in the title, used CCleaner, rebooted and got same squiggles at the top of the pdf again.
    Will use Revo to remove FF then reinstall it.

    PDF made with:- FF Portable.pdf
    Last edited by Look; 2011-09-09 at 17:39.
    Jim.
    May you live as long as you want, and want to as long as you live.

  10. #10
    Star Lounger Look's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Problem Solved.
    Jim.
    May you live as long as you want, and want to as long as you live.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •