Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Missing module?

  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Missing module?

    Hi,
    I tried to install the newest version of Yahoo Messenger on my Windows XP Service Pack 3 computer which is a Dell Dimension 4500 with 1 gigabyte of memory in it. I received an error message which said "Missing Module C:/Windows/user32dll"

    How do I fix this situation?


    Thanks very much,
    Aaron in Brooklyn

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Hi Aaron,
    Attachment 29126

    Unless you have many messenger contacts, I would use Skype, its free and does'nt collect personal info.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Thanks

    Quote Originally Posted by Roderunner View Post
    Hi Aaron,
    Attachment 29126

    Unless you have many messenger contacts, I would use Skype, its free and does'nt collect personal info.
    Thanks. I tried downloading and installing it but my computer is not cooperative. It doesn't want to install for the same reason.

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Radioman613 View Post
    Hi,
    I tried to install the newest version of Yahoo Messenger on my Windows XP Service Pack 3 computer which is a Dell Dimension 4500 with 1 gigabyte of memory in it. I received an error message which said "Missing Module C:/Windows/user32dll"
    Aaron,
    Hello... I did a search on this error and found several "Hits" on the subject. you might start and have a look at this one Missing Module It probably is on your PC ..but just in the wrong place . Regards Fred

    PS; You can also try this ... Open the "Run" command and input "sfc /scannow" (without the quotes) you my be required to put your XP disk in your CD\ DVD RW
    Last edited by Just Plain Fred; 2011-09-10 at 10:39.
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  5. #5
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Radioman613 View Post
    Thanks. I tried downloading and installing it but my computer is not cooperative. It doesn't want to install for the same reason.
    If Fred's post fails to help, try this.
    Remove YM & Skype if they are still installed using Revo Uninstaller Portable using default settings. Reboot. Now pick what you want to install, right click it, properties and unblock, right click again and run as Administrator
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks very much. I got it to work and it is terrific. I ahd Comodo on my computer. It prevented some applications for being installed. I got rid of it and now all is fine.
    Thanks again ,
    Aaron

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •