Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central Pennsylvania
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Non Destruct Reinstall for 64 Bit Windows 7

    My question is... I would like to do the non destructive reinstall, but I don't have a Windows disc.
    I have a Dell with the install files somewhere on the hard drive.
    Is there a way of completing the instructions with this configuration?

    I should add that the reason I need to reinstall Windows is that my user accounts are damaged.
    Images won't preview, and my Lightroom won't display photos.
    When I create a new user account, they work.... but only for a few days, and then revert to the damaged condition.
    Does anyone know why this is happening?



    Thanks for your help

    Bill

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Hi Bill,

    Welcome to the Lounge.

    Not sure if a reinstall will solve that, but there will be no loss in trying it.

    There are Windows 7 legitimate ISOs here: http://www.mydigitallife.info/window...-home-premium/
    And Windows 7 SP1 here: http://www.shaileshtripathi.in/2011/...ntegrated.html

    You can download and burn the one that matches your windows version and see if your windows key works (being an OEM, as it seems, I am not sure).

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to ruirib For This Useful Post:

    IrasciBill (2011-09-17)

  4. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central Pennsylvania
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank you very much
    I'll download the program and give it a try.
    Hopefully, I'll be able to say it worked great

  5. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Hope so .

  6. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central Pennsylvania
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Sigh

    I downloaded the iso file for Windows 7 64 bit from the link you gave me.
    I burned it to a DVD, but when I tried to reboot, it ignores it and boots windows.
    Is there something I am missing?

    Thanks
    Bill

  7. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    To boot from the DVD you likely need to change the bios to set the CD/DVD drive as a boot device and with a higher priority than the disk.

    However, you SHOULD not boot from the DVD to perform a repair install. You need to execute the Windows 7 setup from Windows itself and choose Upgrade.

    Here is Fred Langa's guide: http://windowssecrets.com/newsletter...ive-reinstall/

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to ruirib For This Useful Post:

    IrasciBill (2011-09-17)

  9. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central Pennsylvania
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi again.
    The file I downloaded is a .iso
    It doesn't have a setup.exe file

    I did go into the boot up sequence and placed the DVD drive as the first priority, but it disregarded it and went straight to Windows
    How do I open the iso file to find the setup file?

    Thanks and I'm sorry to be so dense....

  10. #8
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,420
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    You have to burn the ISO to DVD, not simply copy the file...
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  11. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central Pennsylvania
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks Silver.
    I did do that.
    I burned it to a DVD and finalized it to play on any computer.
    Still, Windows does not recognize it when booting.

  12. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by IrasciBill View Post
    Thanks Silver.
    I did do that.
    I burned it to a DVD and finalized it to play on any computer.
    Still, Windows does not recognize it when booting.
    What tool did you use to burn the ISO. You must use a tool such as IMGBURN or something similar which will properly burn the ISO to a DVD so you can see all the files.

    Joe

  13. The Following User Says Thank You to JoeP517 For This Useful Post:

    IrasciBill (2011-09-17)

  14. #11
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Bill, as I said, you don't want Windows to boot from the DVD. Place the disc in the player, let Windows boot and then open Windows Explorer. Browse to the drive, find setup.exe and execute it. That is the only way to have Windows perform a repair install.

  15. The Following User Says Thank You to ruirib For This Useful Post:

    IrasciBill (2011-09-17)

  16. #12
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    In Win 7 if yu simply right click the iso file, one of the options is Burn To Disk, choose this option and burn it.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  17. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central Pennsylvania
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks very much, everyone
    I downloaded the IMGBRN and all went well
    Appreciate the help

    Bill

  18. #14
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    Have you completed the repair install?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •