Lounger
    Thanks

VBA newbie needs help...

Hi everyone...

I'm new to Woody's but from what I've read in the posts, it looks like everyone is happy to help one another and that is exactly what I need... [img]/w3timages/icons/smile.gif[/img]

I need help from the experts... I have only been using Access for a month now and I have never written in VBA before and although I have searched and read every scrap of information I can find on it, I am still having problems understanding a few things... (I'm using Access '97...not the developer's edition)

1) I have a project involving creating two different reports according to finding records that match different criteria... The first data that I receive through download has approx. 50,000 records... I have created queries to reduce it substantially but now I've gotten to the part where I believe code is required...

2) I have one query (RequiredRecords) that is now only showing 280 records... I now have to check dates...
    "If the Business day following the RDate equals ExDate, then generate the reports..."
    Ok... I created a table with records for each Holiday (the actual day that we will be closed...)...because that's not going to be a business day... I know I have to extract the day part of the Date fields and say something like...
    CheckRDate = RDate + 1
    CheckRDay = DatePart("w", CheckRDate)
    Then I think I will need a loop... adding 1 to CheckRDate if it equals a weekend or holiday... I have written some spec.s to complete this task... (hopefully they are all right, but I can't test it unless I get it to run...)

3) The part I can't figure out is the declarations ... I have looked at many examples but I can't quite get it to make sense and work for me... I need to use fields from the query "RequiredRecords", fields from the table "Holidays2001", and a couple of new ones... Any idea of the spec's for this?