Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    256
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Download Windows 7 SP1

    I would like to manually download the SP1 files to attempt to slipstream a full Win 7 SP1 DVD. The MS download site has a confusingly large list of files:

    1 7601.17514.101119-1850_Update_Sp_Wave1-GRMSP1.1_DVD.iso
    2 Windows_Win7SP1.7601.17514.101119-1850.AMD64CHK.Symbols.msi
    3 Windows_Win7SP1.7601.17514.101119-1850.AMD64FRE.Symbols.msi
    4 Windows_Win7SP1.7601.17514.101119-1850.IA64CHK.Symbols.msi
    5 Windows_Win7SP1.7601.17514.101119-1850.IA64FRE.Symbols.msi
    6 Windows_Win7SP1.7601.17514.101119-1850.X86CHK.Symbols.msi
    7 Windows_Win7SP1.7601.17514.101119-1850.X86FRE.Symbols.msi
    8 windows6.1-KB976932-IA64.exe 511.0 MB Download
    9 windows6.1-KB976932-X64.exe 903.0 MB Download
    10 windows6.1-KB976932-X86.exe 537.0 MB

    I have the 64 bit version running, on an AMD processor. I would seem to need (8) or (9)? What about the other files listed. Clarification greatly appreciated
    David P - The Truth Is In Redmond

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    12,519
    Thanks
    152
    Thanked 1,398 Times in 1,221 Posts
    No need to do that. Get the matching ISO DVD from here (they are legit): http://www.shaileshtripathi.in/2011/...ntegrated.html

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    If you insist on slipstreaming yourself, 9 and 10 are the 64 Bit and 32 Bit editions respectively, but Rui has shown a better choice.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to Medico For This Useful Post:

    dpollock (2011-09-20)

  5. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    You want number 9. Microsoft fixes for AMD & Intel 64-bit versions of Windows that most end users have are labeled X64. The IA64 designation is for an HP Itanium processor that is pretty much limited to specialized server applications. For completeness, the X86 designation is for 32-bit versions of Windows. The fixes with "Symbols" as part of the name are for debugging purposes.

    Joe

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to JoeP517 For This Useful Post:

    dpollock (2011-09-20)

  7. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    256
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thanks Ted. I could download the ISO files, but with my Connection, the download will take around 2 hours! Curious, what are files 2 thru 7 all about
    David P - The Truth Is In Redmond

  8. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    256
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thanks for the detail info
    David P - The Truth Is In Redmond

  9. #7
    Lounge VIP bobprimak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Hinsdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    2,482
    Thanks
    176
    Thanked 152 Times in 129 Posts
    You could order the Windows 7 Upgrade DVD from Microsoft if you don't have the resources to download it. The DVD is free, but there is a charge for shipping and handling. The ordering home page is: HERE .

    This DVD can be used to created the slipstream you want. Or you could keep the two disks separately and use both if you ever need to reinstall. In the Lounge, a few cases have been posted where SP1 had to be removed and later reinstalled to perform certain Windows 7 repairs. So maybe having the original and the upgrade handy is a good thing.
    Last edited by bobprimak; 2011-09-22 at 16:27. Reason: Bad link corrected.
    -- Bob Primak --

  10. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    256
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Bob, I followed your link but my IE9 gave a message that the site was blocked because I needed to have cookies enabled - a message I have never seen before. According to IE9, my cookie handling is set to medium, which seems to say that only 3rd party cookies are blocked. What do you think
    David P - The Truth Is In Redmond

  11. #9
    Lounge VIP bobprimak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Hinsdale, IL, USA
    Posts
    2,482
    Thanks
    176
    Thanked 152 Times in 129 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dpollock View Post
    Bob, I followed your link but my IE9 gave a message that the site was blocked because I needed to have cookies enabled - a message I have never seen before. According to IE9, my cookie handling is set to medium, which seems to say that only 3rd party cookies are blocked. What do you think
    I use Chrome. Try THIS link instead. It does not require any cookies to be set, AFAIK. I just tried it in my own IE9 under Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit, no modifications (to IE9)., and it went through with no problem. I don't know why folks post in forums links which are not the actual download start page. Sorry about that.

    For Canadian users, don't forget to specify French or English.
    Last edited by bobprimak; 2011-09-22 at 16:29. Reason: Correct bad link.
    -- Bob Primak --

  12. #10
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    256
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    That did the trick - Thanks
    David P - The Truth Is In Redmond

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •