Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Skelmersdale, Lancashire, UK
    Posts
    160
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Right-click not working in IE9

    I'm running IE9 on W7x64, and I can't get any response when I right click to download a pic, or 'Save Target As'.

    I've checked all the internet options advanced tab items, but I can't see anything relevant.

    Anyone got any ideas?

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,371
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 593 Times in 530 Posts
    If this is a recent occurrence, have you tried a system restore to a time when all was working correctly?

    Joe

  4. #3
    5 Star Lounger chowur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    804
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 54 Times in 51 Posts
    Go back to the;Internet Options Advance tab.Then click on Reset.
    Problems cannot be solved by the same level of thinking that created them. -Albert Einsten

  5. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Skelmersdale, Lancashire, UK
    Posts
    160
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    It's been like this for a while, so I tried reset, which seems to reset IE to such an extent that you get the first use welcoming screen again!

    Unfortunately it it had no effect on right clicking, which still does nothing. I should mention that it works perfectly normally in Explorer etc., bringing up the usual context menu.

  6. #5
    5 Star Lounger chowur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    804
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 54 Times in 51 Posts
    What level do you have your security set in,Internet options?
    How to optimize Internet Explorer;http://support.microsoft.com/kb/936213/ro

    How to reinstall or repair Internet Explorer in Windows 7, Windows Vista, and Windows XP;http://support.microsoft.com/kb/318378
    Problems cannot be solved by the same level of thinking that created them. -Albert Einsten

  7. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Skelmersdale, Lancashire, UK
    Posts
    160
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Thanks chowur.

    When I reset it put the security settings back to standard, with no resulting benefit for my problem.

    The links you give refer to IE7 and IE8 or basically recomend reinstalling, which I was coming round to anyway, but was hoping to avoid.

    I might also mention that I dual boot with Vista, on which 'right click' (in IE9) works perfectly, so I would rule out any hardware issues.

  8. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Skelmersdale, Lancashire, UK
    Posts
    160
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Update

    Well I uninstalled IE9, which restores IE8. Checked and found right click doesn't work there either!

    I've reinstalled IE9 (Windows update pestered me to), so I'm back to square one, and out of ideas.

  9. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,371
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 593 Times in 530 Posts
    A repair install on Windows may be in order.

    Joe

  10. #9
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 928 Times in 851 Posts
    I would try the repair install from within Win 7. Insert the Win 7 DVD, and when asked, choose Repair. You might have to reinstall some updates. If you already have SP1 installed, you can download the Win 7 iso file with SP1 included.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  11. #10
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Skelmersdale, Lancashire, UK
    Posts
    160
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Thanks, guys.

    I'm downloading the ISO now, does a repair install leave all the installed software and windows settings untouched, or will I have to do some more work?

  12. #11
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 928 Times in 851 Posts
    Generally the repair install leaves your customization's, installed S/W, etc. intact and just works on the system files. You might need to re-install some updates.
    Last edited by Medico; 2011-09-25 at 06:30.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  13. #12
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Skelmersdale, Lancashire, UK
    Posts
    160
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Perhaps I'm missing the obvious, but I can't locate a repair option, other than 'Start up' repair.

    I tried a custom install, but it loaded a fresh copy of Win7, which I was trying to avoid, so I restored my original from an Acronis image.

    How do I carry out a repair install of the type you describe?

  14. #13
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,604
    Thanks
    66
    Thanked 522 Times in 471 Posts
    You have to initiate the install from within Windows 7 and then choose upgrade.

    Jerry

  15. The Following User Says Thank You to jwitalka For This Useful Post:

    A1ex (2011-09-27)

  16. #14
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Skelmersdale, Lancashire, UK
    Posts
    160
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    This is becoming a nightmare!

    I successfully carried out the upgrade [a long job], then found I had lost my network connector, it shows in 'Device Manager' with 'This device cannot start. (Code 10)'.
    I've tried updating the driver, uninstalling it and restarting, all to no avail, so I can't run IE to check if the original problem is solved.

    Any suggestions would be welcome.

    [Edit]

    I found an old driver file that had an install.exe - this restored my connectivity.

    I then found that RightClick still did not work in IE8 or IE9.

    My hunch is it's a registry problem, but I don't have the knowledge to deal with that. I've now gone back to my saved image [to save downloading 48 updates]
    Last edited by A1ex; 2011-09-28 at 12:06.

  17. #15
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Indy
    Posts
    96
    Thanks
    34
    Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
    Alex, are you experiencing this on a number of different websites? Web pages/sites can block right-click from working if they want to. If you only visit a small number of sites, there's a tiny chance you've been unlucky. Try the BBC...
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/
    ...for example, they don't block.

    Quote Originally Posted by A1ex View Post
    I can't ... 'Save Target As'
    That's greyed out for me too, I assume you noticed 'Save Picture As' below it.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •