Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Timberville, VA
    Posts
    1,436
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    D-Link router recycles non-stop

    My D-Link DIR628 router today suddenly started recycling non-stop. I have an Internet connection for perhaps 10 seconds, then it goes away. I had shut it down over the weekend to get ready for installation of a new ISP and cable TV service. The installer hooked up the new modem to my router, and he noticed the router was misbehaving.So ... Do I just take a hammer to this thing, or is there hope of recovery?

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,324
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 589 Times in 526 Posts
    Does the router behave the same way if it is not hooked to the modem?

    Joe

  4. #3
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Timberville, VA
    Posts
    1,436
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I don't know. I'll try that this evening. Let's suppose the modem does NOT misbehave while it's not connected to the router. What does that tell me?

  5. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,324
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 589 Times in 526 Posts
    I thought it was the router misbehaving.

    Joe

  6. #5
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Timberville, VA
    Posts
    1,436
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Nuts! Yes, that's correct: If the ROUTER does not misbehave while it's not connected to the modem, what is it telling me? (Sorry for the inattention to detail.)

  7. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,324
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 589 Times in 526 Posts
    I would think that the modem might be causing an issue. Can you try the PC without the router?

    Joe

  8. #7
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Timberville, VA
    Posts
    1,436
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    OK, I bring good news. After restarting the router and the modem several times and running diagnostics, I'd run out of ideas. Then I thought to change the cable between the modem and the router. For now, it appears the brand new ethernet cable the nice young man installed is defective! I'm up and running with my old cable! Go figure ....

    Thanks, Joe!
    Last edited by Caesar3; 2011-09-27 at 19:22. Reason: Solved the problem.

  9. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,324
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 589 Times in 526 Posts
    Nice detective work!! Cables can be rendered useless easily. Glad it appears fixed. Thanks for posting back.

    Joe

  10. #9
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,574
    Thanks
    65
    Thanked 519 Times in 468 Posts
    Perhaps the installer used a crossover cable by mistake.

    Jerry

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •