Results 1 to 12 of 12
  • Thread Tools
  1. Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Cool Windows Live Mail prefers to work offline?

    Suddenly I see working offline (with a red X) when I thought I was already online. I have to click the button to change it to work online. I never work offline and never will.

    Can that setting be changed to make me permanently work online? I don't know if this is part and parcel of the WLM setting but when I open a link in email, Windows reports that I'm working offline and would I like to go online?

    Something needs fixing but I had no idea what.

    Gloria
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,391
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 209 Times in 177 Posts
    Hi Gloria, are you using WLM 2011 ?
    George's PC Specs Laptop. Desktop.

  4. Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roderunner View Post
    Hi Gloria, are you using WLM 2011 ?
    Yes, I am. It's the first time I've used WLM, I've never seen any other version.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  5. Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,391
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 209 Times in 177 Posts
    Hi Gloria, I've tried WLM2011 a couple of times but always went back to 2010, its never been flagged as 'End of Life' by Secunia which is at 100%. If you want, I'll send a copy.
    George's PC Specs Laptop. Desktop.

  6. Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roderunner View Post
    Hi Gloria, I've tried WLM2011 a couple of times but always went back to 2010, its never been flagged as 'End of Life' by Secunia which is at 100%. If you want, I'll send a copy.
    Thanks Roderunner, I will really appreciate that.

    I'll be waiting and if I have the same problem I can always reinstall 2011. That would prove that the fault lies with the newest version.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  7. Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,391
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 209 Times in 177 Posts
    Hi Gloria, first, uninstall all Windows Live Essentials then reboot before installing. If you have a Windows Live ID i.e. a hotmail account, sign in with it, it makes life so much easier. Post back when done for further tips. wlsetup-web.zip
    George's PC Specs Laptop. Desktop.

  8. Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roderunner View Post
    Hi Gloria, first, uninstall all Windows Live Essentials then reboot before installing. If you have a Windows Live ID i.e. a hotmail account, sign in with it, it makes life so much easier. Post back when done for further tips. wlsetup-web.zip
    What folder do I unzip it too once it's downloaded? I'm used to installing applications, I have an unzip program but I need to know where to put it.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  9. Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,391
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 209 Times in 177 Posts
    Hi Gloria, save the zip file to your desktop & unzip it, it will be saved to your desktop automatically. Now right click the exe file, select properties and unblock if needed, right click again and run as administrator. Once the programs you want are installed, save the exe file in case its needed again. Reboot before using the installed programs.
    George's PC Specs Laptop. Desktop.

  10. Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roderunner View Post
    Hi Gloria, save the zip file to your desktop & unzip it, it will be saved to your desktop automatically. Now right click the exe file, select properties and unblock if needed, right click again and run as administrator. Once the programs you want are installed, save the exe file in case its needed again. Reboot before using the installed programs.
    Because there's an update to WLE 2011 (Build 15.4.3538.0513 which I just posted), should I try the update and if the problem remains then I could revert to WLM 2010?
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  11. Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,391
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 209 Times in 177 Posts
    try installing the one I posted, then after more info re settings from me, if you don't like it, you can update to latest version. I can't remember the build number of WLM 2011 I tried, but was not long in reverting to 2010.
    George's PC Specs Laptop. Desktop.

  12. Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roderunner View Post
    try installing the one I posted, then after more info re settings from me, if you don't like it, you can update to latest version. I can't remember the build number of WLM 2011 I tried, but was not long in reverting to 2010.
    It wasn't too long ago that I had the previous version, it was 2010. I've decided not to use the previous version, I'm just going to live with it as it is. With it set to Offline, IE asks if I want to go Online before it opens a web page. Inconvient but livable.

    Thanks anyway,

    Gloria E
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  13. Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,391
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 209 Times in 177 Posts
    You can post back if you change your mind.
    George's PC Specs Laptop. Desktop.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •