Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts

    Macrium Reflect Free + Cloning

    Hello All,

    Just found this new version of Macrium Reflect .. Looks good so far ( new user interface "GUI") and has added a Cloning Feature .You can get a copy Macrium Reflect Free v-5.0.4033 Macrium Free Regards Fred
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to Just Plain Fred For This Useful Post:

    mickzer (2011-11-03)

  3. #2
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,413
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    Well spotted, Fred! I'd click on the Thanks button if it wasn't forbidden...
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  4. #3
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Thanks

  5. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Just used the new version on an old Thinkpad laptop running XP. Made an image of the old disk and made the WinPE boot CD. Replaced the old small hard drive with a larger one.
    Boot disk worked and pointed to the image on an external drive. Restore worked great. Then noticed the new drive partition was the same size as the old drive. Had to dig out an old copy of Norton Partition Magic to stretch the boot partition and recover the unused space. Maybe I missed a checkbox somewhere.

  6. #5
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,413
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    To change partition sizes when cloning (almost a contradiction in terms, if you think about it!) I think you need the paid-for version of Macrium Reflect v5...

    What you did is acceptably free!
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •