2 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Power unit for Dell Inspiron 530 Desktop

Hi to all,

I have Photoshop CS5 installed on my Dell Inspiron 530 Desktop computer running 64 bit Windows 7. I would like to use the OpenGL function but my video board will not handle Adobe’s minimum requirements so I bought a MSI R5450 Graphics card as a replacement. Now I find that my DELL has a 300W power supply and MSI “Suggests” a minimum of 400W for this board. If I install this card will it work or create major problems? I don’t play any games so I don’t need faster animation redraws but I don’t want to burn up my present power unit until I possibly replace it with a more powerful unit.

This creates another problem – How do I find out what power units will fit in my computer? Are they normally, remove a couple of screws, put the new one in place and replace the screws or something more involved like cutting or altering the case? I am a senior citizen newbie with a minimum amount of computer expertise so is a power unit replacement something I can do myself or best left to a computer repair store? Of course, I am trying to do this with a minimum of cost. Any help will be greatly appreciated.
    Respectfully, Graphics Guy

Thanks
    AFAIK all Dell desktops use industry standard PSU's. The same can not be said about the motherboards.

Yours takes a standard ATX power supply and they are widely available. Googling DELL Inspiron 530 Power Supply will get you a ton of ads. For example, here is a 400W unit:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817707049

Changing a power supply is not very difficult, but of course you have to take the usual precautions, like uplugging everything and discharging. And be sure to have everything backed up first - you never know.

For replacement procedures check this out:
    http://support.dell.com/support/edoc...HTML/parts.htm

Jock

3. The Following User Says Thank You to jockmullin For This Useful Post:

Graphics Guy (2011-10-06)

Lounge VIP