Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question User Account Control failure

    I'm using Windows 7 64-bit Home Premium

    As required to use administrator privilege from standard user account, enter said password for the Admin account; UAC doesn't launch the program it just stalls or leaves the Start menu unusable.

    I have to use the windows run prompt to logoff, other operations work just fine.

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,324
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 589 Times in 526 Posts
    You should be able to run a program with admin privileges by responding to the prompt.

    If this is only one program, what is the program?

    Do you have Windows 7 SP1 installed?

    Is the system up-to-date with patches and hotfixes?

    Joe

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to JoeP517 For This Useful Post:

    P.A. (2011-10-12)

  5. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank You. I'm a frequent user of Winkey+L

  6. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    It's any program, but I need intermittent administrator access with the command prompt. And I always update my system, when ever patches become available; SP1 was already in the OEM drive image, although it doesn't say in the system description panel.

    I should probably make a video...
    Last edited by P.A.; 2011-10-09 at 20:19. Reason: grammar

  7. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hillsborough (San Francisco Bay area), California, USA
    Posts
    554
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 53 Times in 52 Posts
    Last edited by P.A.; 2011-10-09 at 17:02. Reason: gammar
    Next we'll work on pelling.

    Zig

  8. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Zig View Post
    Next we'll work on pelling.

    Zig
    Yeah, where's that device that can read your mind, while you think about words as seen in the movie Firefox.
    Last edited by P.A.; 2011-10-11 at 01:33.

  9. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Slough, Berkshire UK
    Posts
    916
    Thanks
    51
    Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts
    If you right click on the file do you get option to run as administrator? Have you tried running "sfc/ scannow" in an administrator command prompt to check for file corruption?
    Last edited by curiousclive; 2011-10-10 at 02:38.

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to curiousclive For This Useful Post:

    P.A. (2011-10-12)

  11. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,324
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 589 Times in 526 Posts
    To run an elevated command prompt go to the Start Orb, type cmd in the search box, right click on cmd.exe in the search results and select "run as administrator".

    Joe

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to JoeP517 For This Useful Post:

    P.A. (2011-10-12)

  13. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP517 View Post
    To run an elevated command prompt go to the Start Orb, type cmd in the search box, right click on cmd.exe in the search results and select "run as administrator".

    Joe
    Anywhere there's a shield icon on a button to click for elevating task or command privilege this doesn't work. UAC is at Microsoft default setting.

  14. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by curiousclive View Post
    If you right click on the file do you get option to run as administrator? Have you tried running "sfc/ scannow" in an administrator command prompt to check for file corruption?
    It restored some obscure file and "fixed" my custom imageres.dll, still fails.

  15. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Here's the error message I get while logging out; I'd expect this from a Zombie NT Virtual Machine, not 64 bit Windows 7.

    logout error.png

    "Dunno, Mongo only Pawn in game of Life." - Mongo, Blazing Saddles
    Last edited by P.A.; 2011-10-11 at 02:28. Reason: For clarity and Great Justice? Maybe some humor...

  16. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,324
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 589 Times in 526 Posts
    Have you run a thorough malware scan?

    Joe

  17. The Following User Says Thank You to JoeP517 For This Useful Post:

    P.A. (2011-10-12)

  18. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP517 View Post
    Have you run a thorough malware scan?

    Joe
    Yes, I have Avast, (MBAM) and used a GMER a rootkit scanner.

  19. #14
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Exclamation

    Quote Originally Posted by Patricia1962A View Post
    thanks for the theme.


    Was this meant for an other person?

    NOTE: Patricia1962A was just identified as a known spammer, and all posts by Patricia1962A have been removed.
    Last edited by Deadeye81; 2011-10-12 at 04:18. Reason: Explanation for Patricia1962A post removal

  20. #15
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 928 Times in 851 Posts
    Another fine example of where our member's vigilance has paid off by getting rid of one more spammer. Thanks Gerald.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  21. The Following User Says Thank You to Medico For This Useful Post:

    P.A. (2011-10-12)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •