Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Barcelona, Spain
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Take your PCs temperature

    Dear All,

    In the latest newsletter, Fred Langa comments on Speedfan. He also mentioned CoreTemp, which is what I have been running for a long time. CoreTemps only drawback is that you cant run it as a regular user, you need admin rights.

    I tried Speedfan, and it has the same limitation.

    Does anybody know if there is a tool around which will autostart with a regular user? Or maybe how to make CoreTemp (or Speedfan) start without admin rights?

    Thank you!

    /\
    \7erard

  2. #2
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Try Real Temps instead of Core Temp, a better program imo.
    Another decent monitoring app would be CPUID's HWMonitor.

    A few alternatives above.
    As for the question of having them run under a regular user account, only the admin can have them configured for that purpose.

  3. #3
    Lounger Super Sarge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Jordan Minnesota
    Posts
    45
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I use Real temp I find it an outstanding program as it also checks temp of your graphics card

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I use Speccy for my PC info in the Lounge (see my PC Specs in my signature). It includes temp monitors. Another app seems redundant. I tried Speedfan and HW Monitor, both work well for me, but as I states are redundant to me.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Barcelona, Spain
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CLiNT View Post
    As for the question of having them run under a regular user account, only the admin can have them configured for that purpose.
    Hi CLiNT,

    I am the the admin, I still don't know how. ;-) How do I do that?

    Thanks!

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    New Brunswick, Canada
    Posts
    290
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    set it up to start at boot time in the windows task scheduler. You can tell it to start with admin rights. I do that with realtemp

    Never mind, I just tried to make this work, but couldn't get it to start for other users (non admin). Will test some more and report back..
    Last edited by High Sierra; 2011-10-15 at 09:57. Reason: added 2nd paragraph.

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    New Brunswick, Canada
    Posts
    290
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    OK, I have discovered that changes in the task scheduler seem to require a reboot to take effect. Even if the trigger is log on. Will try some other changes to see if I can get realtemp to start up for a "normal" user.

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    New Brunswick, Canada
    Posts
    290
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    If at first you don't succeed, you are about average.

    No luck so far.

  9. #9
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Hello All,

    Can one of the hardware gurus please explain to me what is going on in the two screen shots?
    Speecy and SpeedFan seem to agree except for the Temp1-3 under the GPU in the 1st graphic.
    The second graphic shows the configuration for these 3 temps in yellow.

    Please note graphics loaded backward 1 is 2 and 2 is 1.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by RetiredGeek; 2011-10-15 at 15:03.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  10. #10
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Temp #3 looks like an issue with a broken or malfunctioning sensor.
    I have one of my SSD'd reading a whopping 128 C when I know for a fact that it never gets above the 30s C.

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Temp #3 shows a desolate -54 deg. I know you haven't ventured to the Arctic circle. I believe Clint is correct.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  12. #12
    Bronze Lounger DrWho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    1,501
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 205 Times in 163 Posts
    I use a highly sensitive and accurate Digital heat sensor.....

    the first finger on my left hand. If anything is hot enough to make me jerk my finger back with
    an ear shattering "#$%!@#" then it's too hot.

    I've only had that happen once in the past, when a WD hard drive suddenly quit working.
    When I touched it, I found it much too hot to handle. I used an Oven Mit, to remove that
    drive from my PC.

    I've found temperature sensing software to be pretty unreliable, in general.

    Good Luck!
    Experience is truly the best teacher.

    Backup! Backup! Backup! GHOST Rocks!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •