Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Posts
    1,467
    Thanks
    205
    Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts

    Clicking C drive opens Windows Search instead

    My friend has just had a new drive installed on her laptop, and she is running XP with SP3 and all Windows updates installed.

    When she double clicks her C drive, instead of displaying the contents of the drive a Windows Search window opens, and the only way she can open the drive is to right click it and select open.

    I would appreciate any help fellow loungers can give to solve this problem.

    Thanks and regards,Roy

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Hi Roy, delete the desktop shortcut then right click 'My Computer' from the start menu, send to desktop create shortcut.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  3. #3
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Posts
    1,467
    Thanks
    205
    Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
    Hi Roderunner,

    I tried what you suggested but got exactly the same result.Do you have any other ideas? Is it possible that the problem is related to the installation of Windows Search Enhancement Pack-Search 4? Would there be any detrimental effect if I uninstalled Search 4?

    Please advise.

    Thanks and best regards,Roy

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Roy,
    As its so long since I used XP, my info might be incorrect. Delete computer icon from desktop, right click empty part of the desktop, select properties, their should be a box that says customise desktop.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  5. #5
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Posts
    1,467
    Thanks
    205
    Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
    Hi Roderunner,
    When I right clicked an empty part of the desktop there was no box saying customise desktop. I uninstalled Search 4 but it made no difference.Do you have any other ideas?
    Regards,Roy

  6. #6
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Posts
    1,467
    Thanks
    205
    Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
    Hi again Roderunner,

    I found the customise desktop pane and, having first deleted the desktop shortcut, right clicked My Computer on the Start Menu and sent a shortcut to the desktop, but when I click the shrtcut it still opens a search window.
    If you or any other Lounger have any other ideas I would be grateful to hear them.
    Thanks and regards,Roy

  7. #7
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Roy, when you found the customize desktop box, did you click computer to show on the desktop. Then ok it.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  8. #8
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Posts
    1,467
    Thanks
    205
    Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
    Hi Roderunner,

    Yes I did.

    Any other ideas?

    Thanks and regards,Roy

  9. #9
    Super Moderator Deadeye81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    2,654
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 113 Times in 97 Posts
    Roy,

    Have you tried to use TweakUI to rebuild your icons? You can download TweakUI from Microsoft here. Click the 'Featured Downloads' tab and look for 'TweakUI' in the selections.

    You can also refresh/rebuild the icon cache by using this procedure. There are sections describing the action for both Windows 7 and XP.
    Last edited by Deadeye81; 2011-10-17 at 08:38. Reason: add second link

  10. #10
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Posts
    1,467
    Thanks
    205
    Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
    Deadeye,

    Thanks for the suggestions-I tried the refresh/rebuild the icon cache procedure but it made no difference.

    I haven't tried TweakUI yet, but if you have any other ideas in the meantime I would be grateful to hear them.

    Best regards,Roy

  11. #11
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Posts
    1,467
    Thanks
    205
    Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
    Hello again Deadeye,

    I tried TweakUI but that made no difference either.

    Any other ideas would be welcome.

    Regards,Roy

  12. #12
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Roy,
    please post an image of what opens, here's how to. Image Making + Posting.pdf
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  13. #13
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    371
    Thanked 1,456 Times in 1,325 Posts
    Roy,

    You might give this a try: This How-to-Geek Fix or
    # 18 in the list at: http://www.kellys-korner-xp.com/xp_tweaks.htm
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  14. The Following User Says Thank You to RetiredGeek For This Useful Post:

    royw (2011-10-17)

  15. #14
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Posts
    1,467
    Thanks
    205
    Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
    Thanks to everyone who contributed to this thread, particularly RetiredGeek. The How-To-Geek Fix did the trick.

    Best regards to all,Roy

  16. #15
    5 Star Lounger chowur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    804
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 54 Times in 51 Posts
    The How-TO-Geek,Strikes again.lol
    Problems cannot be solved by the same level of thinking that created them. -Albert Einsten

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •