Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Springville, UT, USA
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Unhappy Cannot secure wireless network

    Hi, everyone. I'm in a sorry situation here, and really need your help.

    I switched my ISP to Comcast yesterday, despite all the complaints I'd heard about their support, because I felt it was my only option for getting enough bandwidth for HD streaming.

    Unfortunately, no one asked me if I was going to need wireless access to my network, and I didn't think to mention it. It was only after the installer left that I realized it wouldn't work. The cable modem does support Wi-Fi, so I called Comcast support, and reached a very nice lady who wasn't able to give me much help.

    What I've found is that I can not access my network with a password. I've tried over and over, both on a Windows 7 system and a Mac. I set it up on the modem with a WPA2-PSK (AES) password and match that on my other computers, but it continues to tell me that the password is invalid. I do have wireless access if I leave the network completely open, which I had to do to get online to post this.

    What can I check? What could be causing this problem?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Eastover, NC, USA
    Posts
    78
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
    Try these:

    Unplug the modem for 30 seconds. Plug back in and allow all lights on the modem to come back on.

    Restart the computer.

    Change the password and allow the computer to find the new network.

    Unlikely but possible, your devices don't support WPA2. Drop back to WPA and see if it makes a difference.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to junebug For This Useful Post:

    magicspeller (2011-10-18)

  4. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Springville, UT, USA
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks, junebug. I tried all your suggestions as well as doing hard reset on the modem a couple of times, with no success.

    However, I called tech support for the third time and was finally able to get things working with the default network name and password. Now I'm wondering if it's really as secure as she claimed it is....

  5. #4
    Super Moderator Deadeye81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    2,655
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 112 Times in 97 Posts
    See if this Microsoft article outlining the set up of home wireless networking helps.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Deadeye81 For This Useful Post:

    magicspeller (2011-10-18)

  7. #5
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,733
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 240 Times in 228 Posts
    WPA passwords should be 63 characters long. These are not possible to guess in any meaningful time frame (centuries).
    http://www.grc.com/passwords.htm

    cheers, Paul

  8. #6
    5 Star Lounger chowur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    804
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 54 Times in 51 Posts
    However, I called tech support for the third time and was finally able to get things working with the default network name and password. Now I'm wondering if it's really as secure as she claimed it is....
    In order to really give an answer to the question above.Need to know what brand & model of your router.
    Problems cannot be solved by the same level of thinking that created them. -Albert Einsten

  9. #7
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Springville, UT, USA
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    chowur, it's an SMC, Model SMCD3GNV--my first experience ever with a cable modem.

    Paul, the passphrase I have been using is 24 characters, which I thought was sufficient for my home network that no one is going to want to put a lot of effort into hacking. But believe or not, the modem allows a maximum of 16 characters, and letters and numbers only--no special characters. The default password is 16 characters, and is based on, but not the same as, the serial number.

  10. #8
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,733
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 240 Times in 228 Posts
    Wireless passwords need to be certain lengths to work, in your case you should stick to 16 characters as the router is designed to work this way.
    You could test it with 16 sequential digits to see if it behaves.

    cheers, Paul

  11. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Lafayette, CA, USA
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Here's a question & suggestion from (far) right field: Have you installed Comcast's "Constant Guard Protection Suite"? It includes a component called GuardedID that can mess with various passwords. I had to do similar detective work to clean up a family member's laptop when he reported identical wireless login failures. Here's an item on the Comcast forums that addresses the topic: http://forums.comcast.com/t5/Securit.../927921#M80040
    Fix in our case was to do a straight uninstall of GuardedID.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •