Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Curiousity

  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger midnight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Almost Deep East Texas
    Posts
    352
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts

    Curiousity

    I have noticed that the bar atop IE8 on this desktop machine reads:

    Windows Internet Explorer provided by Yahoo

    Not so on my other two machines. Where did it come from and why?

    Barbara

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,433
    Thanks
    371
    Thanked 1,456 Times in 1,325 Posts
    Barbara,

    It's called IE Branding and here are some instructions on removing it.

    BTW: While researching this I ran across this Microsoft FixIt to completely reset IE to all it's defaults.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger midnight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Almost Deep East Texas
    Posts
    352
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
    Thanks RG...... all gone now!

    But I still want to know where it came from!!

    Barbara

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    If this a new PC, it was put there by the OEM. Otherwise, it was part of a download from Yahoo where you may have selected something to the effect of "download the latest IE optimized for Yahoo".

    Joe

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger t8ntlikly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Chandler, AZ
    Posts
    2,162
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
    Microsoft Fixit Hmmmm Interesting. After removing IE 9 and reinstalling, I am still unable to login to my bank as well as MyMSN, and have to resort to FF to o that... What a P.I.A..... I might just give this a go today.
    Thanks John
    Teamwork is essential; it gives the enemy other people to shoot at. (Murphy's War Laws #39)

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    John, I think this might be a problem with the banking site. perhaps they haven't upgraded their system for the increased security of IE 9. Many places are slow to adopt new browsers. My bank would not allow IE 9 use for a couple on months after it's release. yes PIA!
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger t8ntlikly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Chandler, AZ
    Posts
    2,162
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
    I can only wish that that were true, but I have been using I.E. 9 from Beta and have had no problems what so ever, until they made the switch to bring WA/ID into the 21st centruty, and even after that there weren't any problems. This is a recent problem with I.E. 9. and I am at a total loss, given that I can't even login to MyMSN, and those are the only two sites..........
    See thread: http://windowssecrets.com/forums/sho...og-In-Problems
    Thanks John
    Teamwork is essential; it gives the enemy other people to shoot at. (Murphy's War Laws #39)

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger midnight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Almost Deep East Texas
    Posts
    352
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP517 View Post
    If this a new PC, it was put there by the OEM. Otherwise, it was part of a download from Yahoo where you may have selected something to the effect of "download the latest IE optimized for Yahoo".
    Not a brand new PC and have just started noticing it, but I did have to go to a Yahoo homepage last week when trying to get them to 'fix' my group that was changed to adult [mentioned this elsewhere, and did get it fixed] so 'they' may have done something. Anyway, its gone now.

    Barbara

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •