Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Quicken Suddenly will not Launch - Using Win 7 = 64bit

    Supposedly, because of NET 4, Quicken 2011 and other versions will not launch. I spent a whole day run-around with Quicken Tech support - uninstall NET 4 - no - re-install NET 4 yada yada. Something is really screwed up. And, if you were to Google "Quicken Launcher has stopped working" you will find pages and pages of frustrated users with insane fixes that don't fixit. It appears that there is "suddenly" a compatibility issue and I nor many others cannot resolve it. I am using Win 7 = 64bit. I am seething over the incredibly inept tech support who are using me as a testing guinea pig because they don't have a clue how to fix it. When I saw them heading towards an unistall of Windows, I ran like a rabbit. Do you have any clues? Please help.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    My Quicken Deluxe 2011 works very well in my Win 7 x64 Ultimate OS. I would think something became corrupt in your Quicken install. I would back up your Quicken data file. looks something like "UserName~1_20100722.QDF", without the quotes. Once backed up I would uninstall Quicken using Revo Uninstaller, then reinstall. Perhaps those inept tech support people could at least supply an up to date download file. Or perhaps you have an installation disk or already have a downloaded file. Reinstall Quicken then point to the backed up data file and open it.

    When I was still using Quicken Deluxe 2008 I had a similar problem. The only way I could solve the problem was to completely uninstall then reinstall Quicken from a downloaded file. Quicken support could never figure out why but they did supply a link to a download site.

    I installed ALL the updates from WU including the .net updates with no ill effects.
    Last edited by Medico; 2011-10-26 at 23:09.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    44
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    If you have been working on this for a full day I'm sure you have already tried this but I have to ask. If you hold down the <ctrl> key when you launch Quicken (the quicken data file will not open), does the Quicken program open properly?

    I an running WIN7 64 bit with all the published updates including the NET 4 updates. I am running Quicken 2010 with all the updates and everything is functioning fine.

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Running 2011, thanks - yes did the hold cntrl key down - still will not launch.

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks Ted. Tried all of what you suggest several times before I began posting here. No success. Wrote scathing letter to Quicken and their <crack> support team. At wits end. Uninstalled and re-installed everything but the kitched sink several times - no success - and guess what, it works fine on my carry around tiny little ACER notebook with Win 7 starter and 1 meg of ram.

    But on my dull Dell, with Win 7 home and full up system and 4 meg of ram - nope. Have tried tweaking right click compatibility and security settings and - nope. Quicken Desucks 2011 just won't load anymore. Even shortened the name of the backed up file - you would not believe the suggestions out there on the net. All that is left I guess is to transfer all my backups off this machine and see if it will load as if it was brand new and never used and points to no QDF file. I am doubtful...

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I'm not sure what else the problem could be. I do know Quicken 2011 is definitely compatible. I believe Quicken supplies it's own spreadsheet so you should not need, for example, Office Excel installed. I do have Excel, but I suspect this is not the problem with your setup. I guess I'm out of ideas, sorry.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,568
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts
    If the Quick support people want to blame it on .NET 4, you can use .NET cleanup tool to clean up your .NET installation. Then you can try Quicken again.

    NOTE: With Windows 7 versions of .NET prior to .NET 4 (except 1.0 & 1.1) are part of the operating system. You can not uninstall them. If you .NET installation is still damaged after using the cleanup tool you need to perform a repair installation of Windows 7.

    Joe

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    To All re Quicken won't launched. <Resolved>

    I resolved it after another day of searching. Revo Uninstaller deleted sensapi.dll - I reloaded it from the internet. Quicken now launches. Thanks to all for comments and opinions. As to Quicken support - when you contract support to the other side of the world - make sure they take a class in Windows 101 and 102 as a minumum as well as Quicken 101 and 102.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •